Review of Set in Stone by Newton

Set in Stone

Book Description/Synopsis: 

His parents deceased, young Michael O’Donahue inherits the sole responsibility of maintaining the local cemetery known by most as The Yard. Torn between a lustful affair with the town harlot and a blossoming romance with the youngest daughter of one the most prominent families in town, his life is suddenly ripped apart by evil unseen forces.

‘Set in Stone’ is a gothic tale of magic, mystery and shattered romance. 

Brandi’s Review: 

*I received this book free from the author in exchange for an honest review*

From the beginning of the story I was intrigued, the use of the word “yard” was a brilliant change from “graveyard” even though I believe it was over emphasized in the first few pages. My English teacher would always tell me, “Only repeat to emphasize, but be careful not to over emphasize.” those words have stuck with me since. I never really thought much about graveyards before or the people who tend them, even though I know it is not quite how it was portrayed in the story it was captivating and I must say I will never drive by one again with lack of feeling. I liked the main characters and in such a short period of time I felt as if I really got to know them. The choice of wording throughout was very descriptive and brought me into the story, to clench with all the excitement, I didn’t put the book down until it was done.

From every twist and turn the words provided I was shocked at what happened, every time I thought I knew what was going to happen I was wrong, which compelled me to keep reading. Cliché it was not, not even for a moment. I was left at the end wanting more, not because the story didn’t end appropriately, because I didn’t want to stop reading it. It is definitely a story I would recommend others to read and that is why I am giving it five stars.

If I could compare this story to any other work of art it would be Edgar Allen Poe’s “The House of Usher” a brilliant short story, eerily captivating. I would enjoy reading more stories from the mind of Newton.

Overall, I give this 5 stars!

You can find Set in Stone by Newton on Amazon.

Leave a comment

Filed under Reviews

Leave a Reply

