Review of The Reconstruction Descending by Newton

The Reconstruction Descending

Book Description/Synopsis: 

Ghosts? Check. Killer robots? Check. Spontaneous combustion? Yup. A swirling tornado filled with industrial inspired monsters? You betcha.

You’ll find all that and more in this genre-bending short story showcase that blends together elements of science fiction, horror, and fantasy. 

Brandi’s Review: 

*I received this book free from the author in exchange for an honest review*

For Flash Fiction I was expecting stories that moved quickly, however I was left at the end of each asking so many questions. I was brought into each story in the middle and abruptly taken to the end. The scenes were wonderfully descriptive as I have come to find is a strong point with Newton. I only wish I could have seen more character development.

Often when I have an idea I will write it down to pick back up at a future date. “The Reconstruction Descending” feels like a compilation of ideas that could easily be transformed into something much more. “Quality of Life” and “Breathing Room” were my favorites. (They would make great novellas.)

If I could compare these stories to any other work of art it would be “Hills Like White Elephants” by Ernest Hemingway. You have to look closely at every detail, but in the limited amount of words given you find a masterpiece.

I would love to see more work from Newton, perhaps next time a novel that will bring with it nightmares from his imagination.

Overall, I give this 4 stars!

You can find The Reconstruction Descending by Newton on Amazon.

Leave a comment

Filed under Reviews

Leave a Reply

