Review of Hard Rock Remix (The Lonely Kings #2) by Ava Lore

2940148812418_p0_v2_s260x420[1]

Genre: Contemporary Romance, New Adult

Book Length (Est.): 277 Pages

Book Description/Synopsis:  

A damsel in distress…

The day of a young woman’s wedding should be the happiest day of her life, but for Aylen Ware, it is the worst. Raised from a young age in a secret splinter sect of the Fundamentalist Mormon Church, Aylen has spent her life suppressing her true self and living in constant fear of violence and abuse. The Elders of the church claim that she has been chosen to be the eighteenth bride of a man three times her age and renowned for his cruelty, but Aylen has other ideas. Mere minutes before her wedding, she runs, knowing that she will fail in her flight unless she can find someone to help her…

An unlikely prince…

Half-naked and passed out drunk on a motel bed, Carter Hudson doesn’t seem like a knight in shining armor. Covered in tattoos and piercings, and distinctly disheveled, he frightens Aylen more than a little bit… but appearances can be deceiving. As Aylen runs with Carter’s help, she discovers that beneath the rough surface is a scarred young man who has had his own curses and triumphs–and that he is full of surprises. Like his music. And his money. And his fame. Oh…and also his internationally acclaimed rock band. Still, as the two grow closer Aylen discovers they are more alike than not, and finds her feelings for him changing from the wary…to the wicked.

A fairy tale ending…?

But Aylen’s past will not let go easily: men from the Church are tracking her, determined to take her back to the cult and a life of misery and servitude. Will the bond between her and Carter be enough to escape the evil that follows her, or is her curse so strong that not even love can defeat it?

Jennifer’s Review: 

Where the first book was raw and intense this one is sweet. I loved Carter in Hard Rock Arrangement and was glad to see the second book was about him. The small glimpses of sadness and sweetness I got to see of him did not do him justice, but in Hard Rock Remix I got to see him shine. And goodness gracious Carter Hudson is like the sweetest rock star ever!

This story all begins with a woman desperate for escape and the one unlocked door which will give it to her. Aylen is running from a life she was forced into by her mother, a life she knows isn’t right. No way should her eighteen year old self be forced to marry a man old enough to be her grandfather. Yeah, I’d run too! Far, far away! But just because she runs doesn’t mean she’s broken free. Her nuptials are well sought after and her groom won’t let a little thing like ‘she doesn’t want to’ get in his way.

Carter may have gotten his act mostly cleaned up, but he’s still missing something. And that something is the crazy girl who broke into his hotel room and begged for his help. He’s the type of guy who can’t walk away from someone in need and he strives to witness her excitement at every new encounter. He may have promised he’d let her go on her separate way, but can he? Read it and find out!

“Spare me. I’m very charming and persuasive, so you’re going to end up agreeing to whatever I say in the end, so we should just skip the stuff in the middle where you agrue.” 

“Seriously, let me corrupt you. I love corrupting the innocent.”

My Favorite Moment: I love it when Aylen is talking about her whiskey. Someone who gets drunk for the first time is always a little funny.

“I hadn’t liked the whiskey, but I’d drunk it all. Mostly by accident. I’d thought it was ginger ale. That mistake cost me my nasal passages.” 

“I tried to frown at my whiskey to let it know that I was not pleased with it. To my surprise my whiskey was not whiskey at all, but a banana daiquiri. What was this witchcraft?” 

My Favorite Laughable Moment: Aylen on Google. Every new thing she looked up only made me laugh harder.

“The first thing I looked up was the phrase bust a nut. I mean, come on. I had to.” 

Overall, I give Hard Rock Remix 4 stars! 

*Clicking on the book cover above will take you to the Amazon purchase page.

Leave a comment

Filed under 4 Stars, Jennifer's Reviews, Reviews

Leave a Reply

