Blog Tour: Review of Tearing Down Walls (Love Under Construction #2) by Deanndra Hall

19549857[1]

Genre: Contemporary Romance, Erotica

Book Length (Est.): 507 Pages

Book Description/Synopsis:  

You’re a successful businessman. A molten-blooded Italian hunk. And the newest, hottest, most in-demand service Dom/top in a 500-mile radius, with dozens of women falling at your feet. So, which woman? How do you choose?

That’s easy – you pick the one who can’t stand you.

And that’s exactly what Vic has done. He’s tried desperately to get the wrong woman out of his heart, and it looks like he may have succeeded. And just when he thinks everything in his life is falling into place, Cupid plays a nasty joke on him and he falls for the one woman who doesn’t want to be anywhere near him, Somehow it isn’t already bad enough that he has a secret keeping him from having a loving, long-term relationship; to make matters worse, if he wants to have a chance with the ice princess, he has to keep her alive long enough to tear down the walls she’s built around herself.

Laura is as prickly as they get, but there’s a reason. Her clothes hide a secret that she’s sure would make any man run, and that secret is about to get her killed. The trauma she endured during her service to her country left her unable to feel any emotion or trust anyone, and the idea of ever letting a man touch her is out the window. When she returned home from Bosnia, her family shunned her and her harsh personality, so she’s dealt with her demons alone and on her own for too long. But Laura didn’t expect to meet a man who would promise to keep her safe and would die to keep that promise. That makes him a man worth trusting. And when her past wants to kill her to keep her quiet, can she open up to him before it’s too late?

The second full-length novel in the Love Under Construction series, Tearing Down Walls is a fun, erotic, romantic, and suspenseful romp that takes you back into the world of the Walters family of Louisville, Kentucky. It features many characters over the age of 40 and contains too many steamy, hedonistic sex scenes to be suitable for anyone under 18 years of age. Step into the Walters’ world and have some fun!

Jennifer’s Review: 

*I received this book free from Drue’s Random Chatter in exchange for an honest review*

I absolutely cannot believe this book was slightly longer than the first…it went by so quickly! Then again, this one doesn’t have the same slow beginning as it predecessor. There was nothing like reading the details of Vic’s ‘second job’ to hook me right into the story. Holy cow…wow! If anyone ever mentions a sjambok around me my mind will automatically go to the images my brain has associated with Vic.

Vic is tender, sweet, caring, and over the top sexy. He’s definitely an alpha character if ever I read one. He knows what he wants and he’s not afraid to pursue it. Even if the objection of his desire acts like she hates him.

“You know, you’re even more beautiful when you’re laughing and smiling!” 

Laura lives 24/7 with her guard up and her ice queen exterior in place, but knowing her past, it’s perfectly understandable. However, Vic sees more than what she projects. He sees the wounded woman below the mask and he wants nothing more than to kiss away her pain, but at the same time he doesn’t want to risk the pain of getting hurt. And in that lies the double edge sword of love and heartbreak.

“I promised you I’d keep you safe, and I failed. Epic Failure. And I’m so incredibly sorry. I wouldn’t blame you if you never trusted me again.” 

This book has it all. There are psycho people hell bent on taking Laura out, each for their own reasons. A somewhat love triangle that ultimately just irritates me to no end. Hate to say it but I seriously do not like Nikki all that much. A tender love story filled with patience. And if you like hot and steamy sex scenes, this definitely has many, and they do not disappoint.

“Like the way you’d love to fuck my wife. And I think the feeling is mutual. And it’s really starting to piss me off.” 

My Favorite Moments: I loved the thank you flowers.

“To one of the best teachers in the world from a grateful recipient of the benefits of your teaching.” 

AND…

When Laura faced her fears and let Vic attempt to help her…and she approached it with humor.

“Yes, sir.”

“Oh, shit. Fine,” he said, rolling his eyes. “You’ll be calling me a sick son of a bitch before we’re done, so I guess I’ll enjoy ‘sir’ while I can.” 

My Favorite Quotes: I have so many, which is why I’ve included them throughout my review, but there are two that made me laugh and I absolutely loved them!

“I need to talk to you about something. And you’ll be pissed at me.”

“Soooo…that’s why you fucked me first, because you knew that if you didn’t you probably wouldn’t be getting any tonight.” 

AND…

“God, baby, I think you’ll kill me eventually. Shit, how many times did you come?”

“Sorry, I wasn’t counting. I was doing something more important: Coming. Get me one of those little clicker counters if you want a tally!” 

Jenn 5 Heart

*Clicking on the book cover above will take you to the Amazon purchase page.

Leave a comment

Filed under 5 Stars, Blog Tours, Jennifer's Reviews, Reviews

Leave a Reply

