Review of A Risk Worth Taking by Heather Hildenbrand

18370731[1]

Genre: Contemporary Romance, New Adult

Book Length (Est.): 265 Pages

Book Description/Synopsis:  

When 22-year-old Summer Stafford’s parents split halfway through her senior year at college, Summer’s world is rocked. Everything she thought she knew—heck, everything she thought she wanted for her own life—feels like a lie. The truth is love is a risk. And the true kind, the kind that lasts, might even be a fairy tale.

Reeling from the divorce, Summer derails her own future by breaking up with her parent-approved boyfriend and giving up her lifelong plans for a big-city career. She moves back home, business degree in hand. Dad needs her to fill the gaps her mother left behind; Summer needs to find who she is outside of the cookie-cutter life that failed so miserably for her parents.

Ford O’Neal’s future involves one person: himself. He doesn’t have a permanent address and he definitely doesn’t commit. To a place or a person. Raised by hippies, he plans just far enough ahead to secure his next stop, this one landing him at a work-study program at Heritage Plantation where he can grow his own herbal and medicinal creations.

Summer is gorgeous and smart and fun to be with, the perfect way to pass five months. It won’t be love—Ford’s got too many things to accomplish, too many places to go, before he settles down. Yet Summer pulls him in, challenging him to rethink his own philosophy.

When Ford’s five months are up, each of them must decide if love is really worth the risk.

Jennifer’s Review: 

*I received this book free from Mark My Words Book Publicity in exchange for an honest review*

When a logical girl like Summer has something incredibly illogical happen in her life she’s left uncertain of everything. It’s this uncertainty that closes her off from her friends, family, and life in general. But that all changes when a certain farm intern forces her to live in the moment.

“”What can I do for you?” I asked, abandoning the computer for my cooling mug and trying to appear like I wasn’t picturing him naked. Well, he could keep the boots on if he wanted.” 

Ford has a simple plan in life. Do not settle. Keep moving forward. Keep living in the moment and being happy. No plans. He’d done a great job of that too…until he fell for Summer. He is sweet and charismatic, but sometimes fear makes people do stupid things.

“There was so much I wanted to say but couldn’t. I had a feeling she could see it all in my eyes anyway.” 

I loved the relationship between Summer and Ford. The freedom they shared when together was refreshing. And it often led to fun and interesting things…like mud fights. Even toward the end of their time together, neither would change a moment for anything.

It was a very enjoyable read and I’d be quite interested in reading more about Casey. The banter between him and his sister and him and Ford was hilarious. I loved him. He definitely needs a book all his own.

My Favorite Quote: I loved this. It left me laughing.

“I’d wanted to kiss him again but had a feeling if I did I’d crawl all over his body like some kind of horny monkey.” 

My Favorite Moments: I loved it every time Ford looked at Summer and a small realization of how he truly felt about her would creep into his mind. 

Jenn 5 Heart

*Clicking on the book cover above will take you to the Amazon purchase page.

Leave a comment

Filed under 5 Stars, Jennifer's Reviews, Reviews

Leave a Reply

