Review of Trouble by MJ Stone

20420171[2]

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Book Length (Est.): 318 Pages

Book Description/Synopsis: 

There was a time in her life that Samantha had it all, until trouble found her. Now her existence felt like a cruel joke. She was a good Christian girl then one stormy night she was forever altered. Her life became a series of motions, day in and day out. As she struggles to pick up the pieces of her broken life she meets him. When her past comes back to haunt her it threatens to take her under.

Ben had it all, until he realized he had nothing of value. A chance meeting has him reevaluating his lifestyle, but secrets and lies threaten to tear them apart. Will he be able to weather the storm that’s about to be brought down on him?

YAY ~ Double Review!

Mindy kept saying how much she enjoyed this book so I just had to read it too. ~Jenn 

Mindy’s Review: 

*We received this book free from the author in exchange for an honest review*

Samantha Hays has a very rough past, including loosing the love of her life, and therefore her sisters try to get her to go for girl’s night out as often as possible to get Sam out of the house. Sitting in a bar she meets a very hot man, she knows nothing about him except he is a football player and nothing will ever come out of it so why does she find herself glancing at him every chance she gets.

“I’m a twenty seven year old widow with a four year old child. I’m every man’s dream. Well if he was a psychiatrist I might actually have enough baggage to keep him interested for awhile.” 

Ben Hamilton is a professional football player for the Bronco’s. He has a hard time trusting women in general; mainly because he feels everyone is using him for the fame and fortune. Ben is instantly drawn to Sam and will not accept her just brushing him off without giving him a chance.

Samantha finds it hard to keep her secrets when Ben calls, texts, and just shows up at her door when he feels like it. He just wants to get to know her and she just does not want to deal with any kind of relationship. When a man is as charming and good looking as Ben it’s hard to keep your guard up especially when her entire family is on Team Ben.

When the call comes in to say they have caught the men that changed her life forever all secrets come out affecting her job and her relationship with Ben.

I didn’t really know what to expect when I starting reading but am very happy to say I absolutely love the storyline. The book is very well written and chapter to chapter you find yourself getting lost in the story and feeling the emotions that Sam goes through on a day to day basis. This book will definitely make you believe in second chances for true love.

If I had to critique anything for this book I would suggest a different cover. Maybe one that draws you in to a very HOT romantic story.

My Favorite Moment: One of my favorite moments was when Samantha decided to be brave in the car causing Ben to pull off the highway.

“So you pretty much have a free pass?” 

“I can’t get away with anything, but minor stuff seems to slide” 

“That’s so unfair. I bet the female cops just frisk you for fun.” 

“I haven’t had that experience. Yet.” We laughed. 

My Favorite Character: I have to say that I really fell in love with all the characters in this book but if I have to choose one I would have to say Samantha’s son Caleb is pretty awesome. 

Mindy 4.5 Heart

 

Jennifer’s Review: 

If you like one of those heartfelt, emotional rollercoaster types of stories then this is a book you’ll want to check out.

Sam and her haunting past. Ben and his overwhelming jealousy. These two are quite the opposites, but it’s hard not to see the spark that ignites between them as you flip through the pages.

Sam is a single mother and the reasons behind it are told slowly throughout the story. She’s reluctant to do anything about her ‘cobwebs’ but it would appear that her sisters have other things in mind. With a little push from family and a not so subtle attempt for a date from one sexy football player, Sam is forced into a position she really doesn’t want to be in. But it doesn’t take long for her opinions to sway slightly.

“What do you guys want me to do? I’m still in love with my husband how can I date someone else?” 

A sexy NFL player who has hotness radiating from him should have no issues getting whomever he wants. That’s until he sees Sam for the first time. Who needs a sexy supermodel girlfriend when you can have an uninterested single mom to drool over? Ben is sweet and gentle and overall awesome…until he’s not. He has his moments when you just want to smack him upside the head, or well, that’s putting it mildly.

“I will call you and you will answer,” he stated flatly. “Please don’t try to avoid me.” 

I really enjoyed reading this and I’m glad I did. It did leave me wanting more though. I mean seriously what was all that whispering about!

My Favorite Laughable Moment: A dinner date at Brand. Everything from the bouncer, to the waitress, to Ben watching Sam eat was hilarious.

“Do you think her name is really Candy or do you think she just uses that to try and get bigger tips?” 

My Favorite Moment: I absolutely loved the unexpected guest at the water fight and how easily they all interacted. 

Jenn 4 Heart

*Clicking on the book cover above will take you to the Amazon purchase page.

Leave a comment

Filed under 4 Stars, 4.5 Stars, Jennifer's Reviews, Mindy's Reviews, Reviews

Leave a Reply

