Review of The Sandman by Alex Stargazer

21946682[1]

Genre: SciFi Fantasy, Magical Realism

Book Length (Est.): 20 Pages

Book Description/Synopsis:  

Leila: a girl destined to marry a man she despises. She is disobedient, kind, shameful, smart, and everything a girl like her shouldn’t be.

The Sandman: your imagination; your conscience; your free will.

In a terrible desert of pain and self-discovery, the two shall meet.

Truths shall be revealed…

Jennifer’s Review: 

*I received this book free from the author in exchange for an honest review*

This isn’t the type of book I’d normally read, but since it’s quite short I agreed to give it a chance.

I have to admit that I’m not quite sure what I read. If I had to guess, my interpretation would be that Leila got high and went on one hell of a trip. There’s just so much in and out that it’s like trying to put together a puzzle without having all the pieces.

I did however like the interaction between Leila and the Sandman, but it just seemed to be missing something…and I have no idea what that is, but the hole was there nonetheless.

The writing style reminds me of a poem with dialogue. It’s a vague story touching on love, magic, and religion. 

Jenn 2 Heart

*Clicking on the book cover above will take you to the Amazon purchase page.

Leave a comment

Filed under 2 Stars, Jennifer's Reviews, Reviews

Leave a Reply

