Review of Unfiltered and Undressed (Unfiltered #7) by Payge Galvin and Meg Chance

22483484[1]

Genre: Contemporary Romance, NA

Book Length (Est.): 160 Pages 

Book Description/Synopsis: 

After a night-shift shooting of a drug dealer in The Coffee Cave, twelve strangers each walk out with more than $100,000 in dirty money, a pact never to meet again, and the chance to start over…

Lauren Taylor has always had secrets, but never like the one from that fateful night at the Cave. But at least now she has the cash to stop living the life her parents have always shoved down her throat and pursue her dreams of being a lifeguard in sunny SoCal. But after fleeing her landlocked Arizona University, Lauren soon realizes that reality doesn’t always live up to fantasy.

Problem is, Lauren never learned how to swim–kind of deal breaker if you plan on saving lives Baywatch style. To make matters worse her new swim instructor, Will, is not only smoking hot, but has secrets of his own.

Maybe her parents had been right all along. Maybe it is better to settle for a life without risks than to bare your soul only to get your hopes crushed.

 

YAY ~ Double Review!

 

Mindy’s Review: 

*I received this book free from the author in exchange for an honest review*

Lauren Taylor might have been the one to come up with idea of splitting the money from the night shooting at The Coffee Cave but her big dreams of becoming a lifeguard land her in sunny California for the summer. Never learning to swim can be a challenge for her dreams. Taking her best friend Emerson along for the ride can only mean this is going to be hell of a great summer vacation.

Lauren’s first day in California and she has to get the keys to her rented bungalow from a bartender that is every bit of a typical arrogant but HOT surf dude. 

“I wondered if my mom had never actually been afraid I would drown or be swept away by a riptide if I learned how to swim, but rather that she’d somehow known that if I ever did make my way to California, I’d discover the truth-that the boys were made differently here. They were carved from granite, and when they smiled at you they could set your panties on fire.” 

Lauren has pretty simple goals. Learn to swim, become a lifeguard and live happily ever after….and keep the secret and her money hidden. Emerson has goals as well; get her best friend laid for the very first time.

“Because that’s what virginity was as far as Em was concerned: a disease that needed curing.” 

Lauren is highly aware that her body responds to Will’s touch, voice, stare, and pretty much everything else he does. When she learns that Will has secrets of his own Lauren warns him to stay away from her. Forgetting about Will is really hard to do when he shows up everywhere she goes.

I loved this book. The storyline is perfect for the series. The friendship between Lauren and Emerson is funny and very entertaining. Reminds me so much of my best friend and I. The emotions and feelings between Lauren and Will are real and very heartwarming. I cannot say enough about this series. I am addicted and can’t wait for the next one.

What in the world am I going to do when this series ends?? Can’t wait to get my hands on Unfiltered & Untouched. 

My Favorite Moment: My hands down all time favorite was when Will showed up at the country bar and Lauren decided to throw back some Jaeger.

“That’s when she bent forward and lost it…all over the floor, all over her shoes…and all over mine.” 

Mindy 4 Star

 

Jennifer’s Review: 

*I received this book free from the author in exchange for an honest review*

The friends in this book, Lauren and Emerson, remind me so much of me and my best friend that it had me laughing at their situations and discussions. They share an easy going friendship that everyone would be lucky to have at least once in their lifetime.

“I’ll take one of each, please!” Emerson enthused, squeezing my arm as she scanned the crowd of guys in the busy beachside bar. “Thankyouandamen,” she gushed all in one word. 

Lauren wanted one thing in life…to be a lifeguard. There was only one small problem with that dream. She didn’t know how to swim. But not even that will keep her from the ocean. When Lauren and Emerson move to California for the summer she has a plan, but unfortunately nothing goes as planned, starting with the ‘cottage on the beach’ to the man who keeps invading her thoughts with his ‘granite’ physique.

“I wanted to tell him he was doing this body shot thing all wrong. It was supposed to be done fast – salt, tequila, lime. One, two, three. Not this leisurely investigation of my body.” 

Will once had everything he thought he wanted, but now he’s struggling to keep together the family we once moved away from. He has too much weight on his shoulders to worry about doing something stupid, but every time he looks at Lauren all he can think about is doing lots of stupid things.

“We can’t do this. What were we thinking? What was I thinking?” 

When Lauren’s and Will’s worlds start to entwine things heat up, passions explode, and hearts get broken. When you fall hard, you crash hard.

“Why can’t you just stay away from me? I can’t believe I ever thought I liked you. I can’t believe I let you kiss me.” 

I really enjoyed this one. It’s one of my favorites. It may not have all the steam some of the books in this series do, but it is full of humor and moments that pull on your heartstrings. And I absolutely loved the ending!

My Favorite Moment: Lauren and Emerson’s first night in town. I love what happens when Lauren rings the bell! 

Jenn 5 Heart

*Clicking on the book cover above will take you to the Amazon purchase page.

Leave a comment

Filed under 4 Stars, 5 Stars, Jennifer's Reviews, Mindy's Reviews, Reviews

Leave a Reply

