Review of Shrouded in Blackness (Blackness #3) by Norma Jeanne Karlsson

Shrouded in Blackness

Genre: Romantic Suspense

Book Length (Est.): 324 Pages

Book Description/Synopsis:  

Gangs, organized crime and underground bare-knuckle fighting make up the world that Kieran Delaney thrives within. His reputation is built on the talent of his fists, as much as his ability to get information about any and everything. Never one to be caught by surprise or bested, Kieran knows what you’re going to do before you do it…until Darcy Quinlan enters his life. She introduces herself with a knife to his throat and a promise of unbridled pain. Darcy’s life has been destroyed by betrayal and false promises of safety. Living on the streets for the last eight years, she’s been a ghost. Never in one place long enough to be seen because you can’t catch what isn’t there. Now Kieran sees her and can’t erase her image from his mind.

Kieran and Darcy must now battle to keep her alive and by his side. As her past enters her life from every angle, Kieran makes certain her safety is no longer a concern, annihilating her demons at every corner. He’ll fight, he’ll maim, he’ll torture and he’ll murder to keep Darcy protected. If Kieran can win, her life will no longer be shrouded in blackness…loyalty will lift the veil.

**Mature Content Warning** Recommended for ages 18+ due to explicit language, violence and strong sexual content.

Jennifer’s Review: 

*I received this book free from the author in exchange for an honest review*

Just when I though the happily ever after had been reached and expected Shrouded in Blackness to be coming to an end I realized I was only halfway through. YAY!

I have to admit that I haven’t read too many romantic suspense books, it’s just not a genre I’ve looked into, but holy cow this is a good book! The violence, and oh yes there is some graphic violence, was intriguing and in my opinion all well justified. The relationship between Kieran and Darcy (aka Quinn) was intense…in both good and bad ways. Let’s just say it was very difficult to put down. I had to know what was going to happen, both with the plot and their relationship, and it sucks when I had to put it down for reasons like…oh I don’t know…sleep!

Kieran has a reputation that not too many dare challenge. After seeing how he handles people who’ve hurt those he cares about its obvious how he earned that reputation. Not only is he good at what he does, but he enjoys it! 

“I don’t deserve anything as good as you in my life, but I want you.” 

Quinn has been in hiding for eight years and she’s good at staying undetected, but when two kids need her help and her love she risks it all to do right by them. Now Kieran, he’s another story, she always gets a little stabby when it comes to him.

“Wow. You’re seriously determined to get stabbed tonight. Unfortunately, I don’t feel like getting’ messy so just move along, Kieran,” she sneers my name. 

I love a woman who puts her kids first! And a man who’ll do the same!

“You’re mine. They are mine. Say somethin’ different again and we’re gonna have fuckin’ problems. Tell me you understand.” 

Shrouded in Blackness is a mob style book, with underground fighting, hit men, and all sorts of illegal activity, but it also has love, loyalty, and family. It’s the perfect balance of good and bad.

My Favorite Character: Jack! I mean seriously how can you not love Jack? He’s sweet, funny, and so loveable…even after everything he’s been through. Absolutely love him! 

“I got the prettiest mommy. Don’t you think, Kieran?”

“She’s gorgeous, Jack.” 

My Favorite Moment: When Kieran discovers that Quinn lied to him and the reasons she did make him realize just how he feels about her. 

Jenn 5 Heart

*Clicking on the book cover above will take you to the Amazon purchase page.

Leave a comment

Filed under 5 Stars, Jennifer's Reviews, Reviews

Leave a Reply

