Review of Unfiltered & Untouched (Unfiltered #8) by Payge Galvin & Katy West

Unfiltered and Untouched

Genre: Contemporary Romance, NA 

Hotness Factor: Talk about pushing celibacy about as far as humanly possible… Damn!

Book Length (Est.): 174 Pages

Book Description/Synopsis:  

After a night-shift shooting of a drug dealer in The Coffee Cave, twelve strangers each walk out with more than $100,000 in dirty money, a pact never to meet again, and the chance to start over…

For Allison Daniels, starting over means keeping the promise she made to her best friend that she would join a therapy group and quit drinking, cold turkey. Allie signs up for the first group session she hears about—led by a gorgeous ex-marine named Noah—and decides he’d make the perfect AA sponsor-with-benefits, to help her give up her addiction in favor of a safer, more intimate pleasure.

The only problem? Noah isn’t running an AA group—he’s the president of a celibacy club.

Two years ago, to secure visitation with a daughter conceived during a meaningless hookup, ex-marine Noah Porter joined Worth The Wait and took an oath of abstinence. Noah’s restraint is a thing of legend among college co-eds, many of whom have tried and failed to make him break his oath.

But when Allie accidentally joins his club, desperate to quit drinking and put her life back together, he quickly realizes she may be more than even he can resist. 

As Noah shows Allie which temptations to resist and which to indulge, they begin to fall for each other, but the more intimate their relationship grows, the more aware Noah becomes that soon he’ll be forced to choose between loving Allie and raising his daughter…

 

YAY ~ Double Review! 

 

Mindy’s Review: 

*I received this book free from the author in exchange for an honest review*

Allison Daniels finally makes her best friend a promise to get help for her alcohol addiction problem. Well, it was really a threat by her best friend since she is the one in rehab and doesn’t have an alcohol problem. Her best friend is having issues since the shooting at coffee shop, but Allie has no problem at all since she cannot really remember anything, thanks to all the alcohol.

While dropping her friend off at rehab, Allie almost gets ran over my Mr. Hotness himself. Learning he is in a program as well she decides to give this rehab a try.

“A mouth like that was wasted on speech. It was meant for something much…naughtier.” 

Noah Porter is an ex-marine that knows what it is like to have an addiction. Walking the straight and narrow just to have visitation with his daughter proves to be difficult with Allie joining his club. Once Allie learns that the club she just joined is a celibacy club she needs a drink and quick.

Noah being the great guy that he is wants to help Allie with her addiction, with some food, Mariocart, and a lot of making out. You don’t know you need something when you are completely distracted by the hottest guy you have ever seen, who just happens to practice abstinence.

This is the 8th book in the Unfiltered Series and I must say that this series does not disappoint. I had a lot of fun reading this book. It amazes me what you can still do when you are practicing abstinence. Noah is very hot and wants to help Allie so much that he is willing to break any noses that get in the way. This book is very well written and a joy to read. I felt the ending was a little rushed but was overall a great book in the series.

“Allie, my willpower is damn near legendary, but you’re almost more than I can handle. Almost. So lie back and let me handle you.”

Can’t wait to get my hands on the 9th book in the series Unfiltered & Unveiled.

My Favorite Laughable Moment: I absolutely loved when Allison showed up at the first rehab meeting completely unaware of what she was signing up for.

“Had I really just scrawled my phone number at the bottom of an abstinence pledge? I’d never been so embarrassed in my life, yet there Noah stood, smiling down at me, obviously unaware of my ridiculous plan to seduce the reigning Virgin King.” 

My Favorite Intense Moment: I love how Allie just thinks and says exactly what she feels at any moment. 

“Mmmm… Your tongue is more talented than I ever gave it credit for,” I said as his mouth trailed over my chin and down my neck. 

“That was the truth.” 

“In unfiltered, undiluted, panty-dropper concentration. I mean, I’d listen to you read a grocery list, if you read it naked and made it rhyme, but that was way better than a pound of butter, a gallon of milk, and a loaf of bread.”

 

Mindy 4.5 Heart

 

 

Jennifer’s Review: 

*I received this book free from the author in exchange for an honest review*

I think this was one of the funnier books in the Unfiltered Series. The things that came out of Allie’s mouth were usually funny and sometimes even a little crazy. Oh and Noah has a knack for bringing it out of her.

“I love that for two years, you had no sex, yet ate endless tacos, and you don’t see any humor in that at all.” 

Allie left her best friend Violet in a rehab center that she should have been in instead. If you read Unfiltered and Unraveled you’ll understand perfectly, as that was Violet’s story. It’s also where she promised to get help herself. And she does. But she thinks she’s joining an AA group and instead joins a celibacy club. It’s funny how one very sexy man can distract enough that you don’t even read the pledge card you’re signing.

“I really should have reported the entire group for false advertising. Seriously, what kind of bait-and-switch scam were they running, using the most lickable guy on campus to recruit for their celibacy club!” 

Noah used to be a lot like fun-Allie, but that all changed when his daughter was born. Now he’s on the straight and narrow so he can see his daughter. He’s also the president of the celibacy club. Yet ever since he met Allie he’s having difficulty keeping his pledge. But not even someone as wonderful as Allie will make him choose her over visitation with his daughter. He’s such a wonderful dad!

“Allie, my willpower is damn near legendary, but you’re almost more than I can handle. Almost. So lie back and let me handle you.” 

Oh, and Allie won’t go down without a fight!

“Would “Allie calls dibs!” be completely inappropriate, printed across his six-pack, if I picked a nice masculine font?” 

Unfiltered & Untouched is funny and sweetness all rolled into one. Allie and Noah not only make a good couple, but a great team. And once the overcome crazy frat boys, jealous exes, and conquer their own problems there will be nothing stopping them. Everything does kind of fall into place extremely quickly at the end, but it’s still a great read.

My Favorite Laughable Moments: The restaurant…everything from the tacos to the sacrificing virgins into a volcano to appease an angry god. The entire dining experience was quite hilarious. But I have to admit that I loved it when she thought about rules…

“Rules. I’m not good with rules.

Don’t drink until you’re twenty-one.

Don’t have sex until you’re married.

Don’t feed the gremlins after midnight.”

Yep…must have been that last one that got me! 

My Favorite Response: Noah made a simple statement: “I want to take off your shirt.”

But her response was priceless: “I want to burn your entire wardrobe and dance in the ashes-“

Jenn 4.5 Heart

*Clicking on the book cover above will take you to the Amazon purchase page.

Leave a comment

Filed under 4.5 Stars, Jennifer's Reviews, Mindy's Reviews, Reviews

Leave a Reply

