Review of Facing the Music by Andrea Laurence

Facing the Music

Genre: Contemporary Romance 

Hotness Factor: Rekindled Love and Smashed Guitars

Book Length (Est.): 250 Pages

Book Description/Synopsis:  

In this sizzling and hilarious contemporary e-book romance, pop sensation Ivy Hudson returns to her small town to face her ex. Only trouble is, she made her Taylor-Swift-like career with the hit song “Size Matters”—and the football hero has had to live it down ever since.

Five years ago, high school sweethearts Ivy and Blake’s relationship imploded and both their lives were changed forever. Ivy became a rock star and Blake lost not only his dreams of a successful NFL career, but his reputation. Ivy’s angry song about their breakup, called “Size Matters,” hit the top of the charts and Blake became a national laughingstock. He’s salvaged his career and returned to Rosewood to be the high school football coach, regaining his status as town hero and leading the boys to the state championships.

When a tornado whips through town and destroys the high school gymnasium and stadium, a committee is formed to help rebuild and plan some charity fundraisers. Blake’s grandmother requests that Ivy return to Rosewood for the events. Forced back together for the good of their hometown and their careers, Ivy and Blake have no choice but to put aside their differences, stop running from their pasts, and finally face the music.

For fans of Kristen Proby and Colette Auclair, Facing the Music hits a perfect balance between small-town romance and big-time success. Follow Ivy and Blake as they fall back in love and figure out what does matter in the end…

Jennifer’s Review: 

*I received an ARC of this book free from NetGalley on behalf of Gallery, Threshold, Pocket Books in exchange for an honest review*

Famous pop star Ivy has to go home for a benefit concert and in a town as small as hers she realizes avoiding her ex Blake is unlikely, but she’ll do her damnedest. Her career took off after their breakup when she wrote a song called Size Matters and even though she never said who it was about a reporter linked it to Blake and blasted him all over the tabloids. Not exactly the reunion anyone would want.

Ivy’s song was only the beginning of Blake’s downfall. After a NFL knee injury he found himself back home coaching. Not exactly the future the envisioned for himself. Now he discovers the once love of his life is back in town and oh how he meets her again is priceless.

Forced to work together for the town’s fundraiser activities put a tension between them that she can’t afford to erupt in front of the public. Her image is already a little rocky and she needs the good publicity, so she takes the high road and apologizes…Very Loudly!

With the angry tension no longer between them neither can overlook the attraction still between them, but Lydia wants Blake and she’ll do anything to come between them. And that is one crazy and conniving woman.

Facing the Music is a sweet romance filled with humor, jealousy, sneaky reporters, and a love worth fighting for.

My Favorite Laughable Moment: Blake and Ivy’s first encounter at the cabin. Poison Ivy…HA! 

My Favorite Moment: The end. I mean how can you not love Malcolm’s “assistance”. 

Jenn 4 Heart

*Clicking on the book cover above will take you to the Amazon purchase page.

Advertisements

Leave a comment

Filed under 4 Stars, Jennifer's Reviews, Reviews

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s