Review of Beast (Predator & Prey #2) by James D. Horton

Beast

Genre: Paranormal Romance 

Hotness Factor: Play with the beast and the beast plays back!

Book Length (Est.): 89 Pages

Book Description/Synopsis:  

It has been days since Lily killed the vampire responsible for her brutal attack. Now she and Wolf have been summoned by the Society to answer for her actions. Standing before the Regent, she learns she has tipped the human and supernatural scales. A new vampire is required to restore balance.

When she hears the penalty for her crime, Wolf protectively steps in and accepts a dangerous task in exchange for her freedom. He must find the rogue vampire who has been slaughtering citizens in their territory or risk losing Lily to the Society. And he only has days to do it.

As the night of reckoning fast approaches, Lily finds an unlikely advocate in a centuries-old, seductive vampire named Athene who gives her an ominous warning. Athene knows secrets about Wolf she won’t divulge, which only complicates the mysterious revelation Lily has recently discovered about herself.

Screams, growls, and cries echo throughout the darkest, desolate streets of the city. The final showdown determines who is predator and who will become prey. One thing remains certain–no one escapes the night unscathed.

Beast is the much anticipated sequel to Predator & Prey, the thrilling supernatural series of the same name by author James D. Horton.

Jennifer’s Review: 

*I received this book free from the author in exchange for an honest review*

I don’t know where to begin…

Beast is a great read. It pulled me in just as quickly as its predecessor did, but if book one hadn’t still been fresh in my mind I wouldn’t have remembered the details of certain behaviors, like the incident with the guy at the radio station. Only after I read it I remembered ‘Oh yeah…they had an arrangement’ because as I was reading it I thought ‘What the hell!’

There’s also so much to this story I’d still love to know. The relationship between Lily and Wolf: will it ever be what she wants it to be? The new girl on the block, Athene: is she really all that, or does she have ulterior motives?

I haven’t quite put my finger on why I love this series so much, all I know is that I do. Maybe it’s Wolf’s quiet and secretive nature. Maybe it’s Lily’s power to overcome her fear. Or maybe it’s a mixture of everything…the relationships, the desires, the hidden agendas, the unknown.

“Mentally, I stick my tongue out at him. I walk alongside a cowboy, surrounded by vampires, and whatever Balthazar is, like this just a normal night.” 

My Favorite Moments: I love it when Lily reaches out to touch the beasts. She never learns her lesson, but in one instance she does finally get her way.

“Right now, I don’t care what else happens. I want him. My own death looms before me and I don’t want to go to it without having had this with him. I reach out and stroke his beast and that inner darkness responds to my caress.” 

Jenn 4 Heart

*Clicking on the book cover above will take you to the Amazon purchase page.

Leave a comment

Filed under 4 Stars, Jennifer's Reviews, Reviews

Leave a Reply

