Review of Crossing the Line (A Taboo Love Series #3) by M.D. Saperstein and Andria Large

Crossing the Line

What Do They Say? Oh, Yes… Practice Makes Perfect!  

Genre: Romance (M/M)

Book Length (Est.): 272 Pages

Book Description/Synopsis: 

Parker Hamilton – movie star! That’s what the world knows about me. Oscar winner, prominent bloodline, playboy. But there is so much more to me. My friends are my real family, and they are what matters most. But I’d be lying if I said that I’m not concerned about my reputation. Everyone who lives in the spotlight is.

Listen, I can play any role – drama, comedy, romance. You name it. I can act my ass off, and I have the proof on a shelf in my office. But when my agent calls me into his office to offer me the role of a lifetime, I am hesitant. Not only would I have to act opposite Chance Steele, the most egotistical schmuck I know, but we would also have to pretend to be intimate. Really intimate. As in gay lovers.

Now, don’t get me wrong; I am as open-minded as they come. People can love whom they want, screw whom they want, even marry whom they want. But when you ask me to make out with a dude, pretend to roll around in a bed with him, well, that’s where I draw the line. Maybe.

Sometimes lines are blurry. And sometimes lines are just meant to be crossed.

* * *

Crossing the Line is book 3 of the Taboo Love series and picks up where Unmasking Charlotte left off. As with Hey There, Delilah and Unmasking Charlotte, it is a standalone – so don’t worry if you haven’t read them yet – with a HEA. That means no cliffhanger! Oh, and expect to see some of your favorite characters.

Contains graphic m/m scenes. Not intended for readers under 18.

Jennifer’s Review: 

*I received this book free from the author in exchange for an honest review*

I love Andria Large’s Renegade series and when she asked if I’d be interested in reviewing Crossing the Line I of course said yes. And I was not disappointed at all!

I have not read books one or two and as it says in the synopsis it can be read as a standalone. Of course after glimpsing the couples from books one and two I want to now go back and read their stories too. They are just that awesome and I couldn’t help but love them as much as I did Parker and Chance as their friendships and support are also a big part of this story.

The only good family Parker has is his Grams, but that doesn’t matter because his friends are his true family. They’re the ones who will always be there no matter what. His parents and brother aren’t worth the frustrations they cause him.

Chance hasn’t had an easy life by any means, but he made it to the bigtime and he’s proud that he’s done it all on his own. Of course at the end of the day all that means is that he’s alone.

Both Parker and Chance are ladies men. They’re handsome bigtime actors with a sexiness that radiates off them. But when a ‘hopefully’ blockbuster movie puts them together as FBI agents who fall for each other things get a little tense. They’ve worked together in the past, but never really liked each other, and now they have to kiss and touch and make it seem real on screen. So how do they do that? They practice.

“As I take another sip of water and turn the page, my eyes skim the first line of the page. Immediately, I spew the water that is still in my mouth across the table and start choking. What the fuck? My character, Jackson, just kissed Chance’s character, Wade!” 

Chance forces Parker to practice and it doesn’t take long for him to realize he’s thoroughly enjoying touching and kissing Parker. For Parker it’s different. He fights it every step of the way, especially after he discovers his body actually reacts to it.

“My breath catches. I’m really about to kiss a man…on purpose. I can’t tell if the butterflies in my stomach are from excitement or dread, and that just adds to my anxiousness.” 

Crossing the Line is a beautifully written story that completely held my attention. It’s filled with manipulating family, nonjudgmental friends, and a love that shouldn’t have happened but couldn’t be denied. Not to mention it has sex scenes that’ll leave you breathless and wanting more. I’d suggest planning a date night after reading this. You’ll need the release.

“Fucking asshole. Bane of my existence. And now he’s in a god damned, motherfucking, personally tailored, form fitting Armani two-button suit from Barney’s of New York. And he looks… he looks… fucking delicious! Cocksucker.” 

My Favorite Laughable Moment: It was funny when Parker attempts to outdo Chance at the gym. It’s even funnier when they make the bet. 

My Favorite Moments: I have three… First, Chance’s confession at the baseball game and Parker’s sweet reaction to it. Second, when Chance calls out Carla. I mean how can you not love it when he calls her a “twunt”? I know I did! And third, two words…flash mob!

Jenn 5 Heart

*Clicking on the book cover above will take you to the Amazon purchase page.

1 Comment

Filed under 5 Stars, Jennifer's Reviews, Reviews

One response to “Review of Crossing the Line (A Taboo Love Series #3) by M.D. Saperstein and Andria Large

  1. Pingback: October 2014 – Author of the Month: Andria Large | Hines and Bigham's Literary Tryst

Leave a Reply

