Review of At War (War Trilogy #1) by Andria Large

At War

Now that’s how you show a friend comfort…Yum!

 

Genre: Contemporary Romance, Military Romance, Gay Romance (M/M)

Book Length (Est.): 173 Pages

Book Description/Synopsis: 

The love of my life is dead.

Is there really a reason to live anymore?

I’m a war veteran who has suffered great tragedies overseas. Not only have I lost my right foot, but I have also lost my wife. Both at the hands of terrorists. Recurrent nightmares, a dead end job, and a painful limp are all I have left. Not much of a reason to wake up in the morning if you ask me. I’m struggling to carry on in this very lonely excuse of a life. The only reason I’m still swimming is because I have my best friend, Tucker, and my sister, Lizette, keeping me afloat.

Tucker has been my saving grace. I would not be here if it weren’t for him…literally. We have become practically inseparable since moving in together. And then, out of nowhere, there are these feelings and emotions. The kind that I haven’t felt in years; not since I lost the love of my life. The kind that I’m not sure I can handle, or even want to. But they have started wrapping around my broken and shattered heart, trying to mend it – whether I’m ready for it or not. Only they are not for a woman as you would expect, but for the man suddenly sharing my bed.

Am I ready to give love another go? I’m not so sure that I have it in me.

But then again, I’m tired of being at war.

*Warning: For mature audiences only. Contains some sensitive situations and graphic m/m sex scenes. Please remember that this is a work of fiction and comes from my own imagination.

Jennifer’s Review: 

*I received an ARC copy of this book free from the author in exchange for an honest review*

I’ve had a soft place in my heart for Dennis since I started reading Andria Large’s Renegade Series. He’s the sweetheart who you know is broken and you just want to help fix him. Lucky for him, he has Tucker for that.

“I wish he could hear me right now because I don’t think that even I can believe some of these noises coming out of me.” 

Dennis and Tucker are both ex-marines. Dennis lost his foot and part of his leg and now wears a prosthetic, but that wasn’t the only thing he lost during the war, he also lost his wife…a memory that still haunts him even four years later.

Tucker lost his hearing, but his friend lost his life that same day, so his hearing loss is his penitence. Each of them is broken, each of them relives their fateful nights, and the way they each deal with their PTSD is different, but they have each other to get through it.

“His dark hair is a mess and he’s wearing his own clothes, a pair of sweatpants and a t-shirt. I fight the urge to go to him, wrap him up in my arms and kiss the shit out of him.” 

As best friends and roommates they will always have each other’s back. But when a night of good intentions turns into something more that neither of them can deny will it change their friendship or make it better?

“It’s weird how we kissed earlier and are now back to our normal comfortable selves. Like we didn’t share one of the hottest kisses ever.” 

At War gives an inside look into the scary world of PTSD and the toll it takes on everybody, but it also shows how love and comfort can assist in getting through the tough times.

“Don’t ask me stupid questions like that, Denny. You know that I’m okay with this. Shit, you could be in a relationship with a lamp for all I care, as long as you’re happy.” 

This is a really good story on its own, but I’m glad I read the Renegade Series first as it does bring in characters from both the first and second books…including Dennis’ lovely parents. I would suggest reading Sweet Renegade and Wild Renegade first, but it’s not really a necessity. However, let me warn you, this book does have a cliffhanger ending. When I flipped the page and it said “To be continued…” at the top my heart dropped. I really really wanted to know the answer to that last question asked…guess I’ll be waiting for the next book to find out.

My Favorite Moment: When Tucker takes advantage of Dennis. From Dennis’ reaction to the humor afterward it was just one of those hot, sexy, fun moments you could read over and over again. 

My Favorite Laughable Moment: I laughed so hard when Duke called Tucker out about his extra circular nighttime activities. The way he did it and the conversation that continued afterward was just downright hilarious.

Jenn 5 Heart

*Clicking on the book cover above will take you to the Amazon purchase page.

1 Comment

Filed under 5 Stars, Jennifer's Reviews, Reviews

One response to “Review of At War (War Trilogy #1) by Andria Large

  1. Pingback: Review of At War (War Trilogy #1) by Andria Large | The blog of COOPER APPAREL. Find us at https://www.facebook.com/Coopertees

Leave a Reply

