Review of His Assistant (Part #1) by Sharon Cummin

His Assistant 1

Holy Cliffhanger…shocked and speechless!

 

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Book Length (Est.): 153 Pages

Book Description/Synopsis:  

Warning: This story contains content which is intended for readers over the age of 18.

The one person I loved most in the world was gone. What was I going to do? I had given up the last two years to take care of my mom and be with her until her last breath. She was my best friend.

At twenty-one, I was going back to school. That was what she had wanted for me. I was determined to own my own company one day. It was important to her that I finish school, and I wanted to make her proud. My father had passed away before she could tell him she was pregnant. She had given up so much to raise me alone. I knew she would have done anything for me.

The day after her funeral, I found a box in the attic with my name on it. She told me about the box the day before she passed, but I promised her I would wait to open it. When I opened the box, I found a letter on top. There was nothing that could have prepared me for what I was about to read. As I read the letter, tears fell from my eyes. I dropped the letter to the floor and tore through the box as I sobbed. My life would be changed forever. How could she have lied to me? How could the one person I trusted most have kept such a big secret from me?

There was only one person who could answer the questions I had, and I could only think of one way to get to him. I had to get a job, and there was only one company to work for. The only thing on my mind was getting answers.

One thing I didn’t need were distractions.

Then he came along.

He was tall, built, tattooed, and oh so sexy.

In a suit he looked amazing, but in jeans and a tight t-shirt he was unbelievable.

Just when I thought he couldn’t get any sexier, I saw him on his Harley.

I was in trouble.

I couldn’t keep my thoughts straight.

He was cocky, full of himself, and held my fate at the company in his hands.

One minute I couldn’t stand him, and the next I wanted him more than I had ever wanted anything.

Would I be able to get the answers I desperately needed before tall, dark, and sexy turned my world upside down?

This is part 1 of a 3 part serial.

Jennifer’s Review: 

*I received this book free from the author in exchange for an honest review*

When her mother passed away Brooke officially lost the last of what family she had left…or so she thought. Upon her death bed she told Brooke about a box. A box that would change her life.

Kevin Reynolds is Brooke’s new boss and she absolutely loves to drive him crazy…and drool over his hotness, but she’d never admit to that part because it would mess up her plans.

“I just wanted to make sure you didn’t hurt yourself in here. That was a pretty loud boom a moment ago. Since you’re my boss, I thought I would see if you needed any help,” I said with the straightest face. 

A sneeze is what caught Kevin’s attention and for him it was an instant spark of a connection, but he’d never intended on seeing her again. That is until she became his new assistant. His boss would kill him if he got involved with his assistant, but damn if her smart mouth and insane body didn’t just drive him mad with need.

“Did you just laugh?” she asked.

I shook my head, keeping my eyes on my laptop screen. If I looked up at that smile, I knew I would have taken her face in my hands and kissed her. She was something else. 

A business trip changes everything between Brooke and Kevin and at the end she overhears something that turns her world upside down. It’s definitely the kind of cliffhanger that will have you buying the next book because you’ll just have to know.

I loved the interactions between Brook and Kevin. Her smart mouth kept him irritated and turned on. And he loved to get her all riled up because her reactions were adorable.

I feel I need to mention the writing itself. At first I couldn’t quite tell if it was supposed to be in first person or third person because it seemed to go back and forth. The timeframes jump very quickly at times and often in the same paragraph. There are also quite a few editing issues. Not enough to take your attention away from the storyline, but definitely enough to occasionally distract you.

Jenn 3.5 Heart

*Clicking on the book cover above will take you to the Amazon purchase page.

Leave a comment

Filed under 3.5 Stars, Jennifer's Reviews, Reviews

Leave a Reply

