Review of Blackness Within (Blackness #5) by Norma Jeanne Karlsson

Blackness Within

One wild and loving ride!

 

Genre: Romantic Suspense

Book Length (Est.): 510 Pages

Book Description/Synopsis:  

This is the story of a woman that has worked tirelessly to build her own life from nothing. While the task has been exhaustive, it’s been worth every drop of sweat to earn her own slice of normal. Natasha Reynolds has built a life beyond an absent mother and a drug addict brother to become a home-owning, dog-loving nurse. But no matter how much distance she puts between the present and her past, she always finds herself dealing with the messes of those she loves. Once again, a hasty decision to save her beloved brother’s life has put Natasha in peril. With nowhere to turn, she goes to the only place she has left.

Brian O’Sullivan.

​He’s an attorney, a ladies’ man and nothing but trouble. Natasha has spent two and a half years avoiding Brian’s smoldering grin and his smooth pickup lines. While he spends his days in courtrooms and suits, Brian would much rather be bloodying his knuckles and relishing in the crushing of bones. In order to help Natasha, he will have to be both the professional and the fighter. As Brian demolishes opponents, Natasha will struggle to hang onto her life. They will be ripped apart by the evil underbelly of the crime world and wage a war to escape the blackness within it that threatens to swallow them whole.

Jennifer’s Review: 

*I received this book free from the author in exchange for an honest review*

The Blackness Series is incredible. The stories are layered so it’s like you get multiple books in one and you can’t help but be glued to the pages. There’s action and suspense with a mixture of family and love. You get the mob style hold your breath moments that’ll have you on the edge of your seat. But better yet you get the love so deep he’ll do anything to get her back moments that warm your heart.

Natasha just wanted a simple life, her own things, and her brother back to the man he was before drugs took his life over. After a night gone horribly wrong, she’ll only end up getting one of those things and not because of any reason she would have ever imagined.

Her life will be anything but simple. Everything she worked so hard to acquire will be ripped from her. And she’ll have to say goodbye to her brother or risk losing him forever.

Brian (aka Sully) enjoys his life the way it is. He likes being a brother and an uncle and a player, but since the first time he met Natasha in the hospital he’s been drawn to her and when she needs his help he’ll go running. Problem is he’s stupid and will push her away no matter how much he wants her. Damn men!

“I told you. I’m an attorney. She called and needed some help. I’m here to do just that,” I reply blankly.

“You’re so fuckin’ full of shit. I see you lookin’ at her. You’re here walkin’ Zeus, namin’ the baby and puttin’ my sister to bed. Try again.”

So much happens in this book and it’s difficult to say anything without giving away the highlights, because goodness gracious it has so many twists and turns. I will say that Natasha gets put into a position where there doesn’t seem to be any daylight left at the end of her tunnel and Sully’s life will change in a matter of moments and his main focus in life will shift to his heart instead of his cock.

“Did you really just scare off her ex? Am I really here right now? I just witnessed Brian O’Sullivan acting territorial over a woman other than Kid?”

Norma you did another fantastic job with Blackness Within. I cannot wait to read Escaping the Blackness.

My Favorite Laughable Moment: Sully and his brothers can be so incredibly hilarious. I just absolutely love them all!

**small excerpt…just cannot help myself**

I double over laughing at his limp dick sporting a used, very stuck to him condom.

“Stop lookin’ at my junk, pervert,” he chides me, trying to pry the latex from himself.

“It looks like a dying albino elephant,” I sputter out, laughing harder as I speak and he winces while he tugs.

Once he gets the condom off he flings it at my head, missing badly.

“THE FUCK?!” Cal screams from behind me and I fall to my knees after I spy him ripping the condom off his face.

I’m laughing so hard I feel like I’m going to puke. My sides ache and my cheeks are cramping. Fuck, I needed this.

“Sorry, man,” Kav dismisses hi post-messy-sex foul.

“If I get herpes in my eyes from that, you’re a dead man,” Cal threatens.

Jenn 5 Heart

*Clicking on the book cover above will take you to the Amazon purchase page.

Leave a comment

Filed under 5 Stars, Jennifer's Reviews, Reviews

Leave a Reply

