Review of Slapshot of Love by Gary Pearson

Slapshot of Love

Reality TV…there are no words!

 

GenreRomantic Comedy, Sports Romance (Hockey)

Book Length (Est.):  356 Pages

Book Description/Synopsis:  

Slapshot of Love by Gary Pearson is a satirical romantic comedy in the tradition of Nick Hornby’s High Fidelity and Helen Fielding’s Bridget Jones’s Diary. Geri Halton is a young woman with an all too real life, working in an seniors’ residence in an industrial town, who finds herself thrown into the glamorous, but artificial world of a reality TV dating show called Slapshot of Love. Smart, funny, attractive, but not ‘model pretty’ or remotely glam, Geri must navigate the phony world of television and determine if her relationship with Ryan, the handsome hockey playing star of the show, is real, or contrived for the TV audience. The hilarious circumstances at both a seniors’ residence and the set of a reality TV show propel the characters through a comic story that also has a lot of heart.

Jennifer’s Review: 

*I received this book free from the author in exchange for an honest review*

I’m not a big reality TV person, but if I could imagine what really took place on the set it would probably be a lot like it’s written in this book.

I have so many opinions of this book and I’ll start by saying I loved Geri (she’s snarky, sweet, and loveable), Julie (her awesome best friend), and all of the elderly people whom they cared for. As for everyone else…I maybe kind of liked some of the cast, but everyone else was selfish and mouthy and karma could do a number on them.

Geri had a relationship that was stuck in a rut, a job that was going nowhere, and a cousin who could sour anyone’s stomach. As she’s taking her cousin to an audition she ends up in a bizarre waiting/interview room filing out the tryout paperwork right alongside her. She never expected to get on the commercial, she definitely did not expect it to turn out to be a bogus commercial and end up selected to be on a reality TV show trying to win the heart of a sexy hockey player.

“What’s wrong, you didn’t want to go on a date with me?”

Geri popped her head back out the door. “A date? This isn’t a date, this is a field trip to a ball game with some kind of weird fashion model Brownie troop.”

Ryan seems like a good guy. He’s hard to read and since this is told from Geri’s point of view you don’t really get to know him like you’d want to. But at the end when you do get to know the real Ryan you’ll be screaming at your book. I HATED THE ENDING! I HATED THE ENDING! I HATED THE ENDING! I mean it seriously sucks…and then the very last words written leave you wondering what the hell just happened.

Slapshot of Love is like a behind the scenes look at a reality TV show. If you like things like that then you might really enjoy this book, but beware the ending. For the record, I really wished that if I kept flipping the pages it would have an alternate ending…no luck.

In the copy given to me for review there were a lot of typos, hopefully they were corrected. There aren’t enough to be completely distracting, but they were definitely noticeable.

My Favorite Laughable Moment: I liked when Geri did her first taped interview for the show.

“Geri, you can’t say you’re here for the money.”

“But you said I could say whatever I want and the money is what convinced me to do this.”

“Well you can’t say that. Think of the women watching at home. You’re a stand in for them.”

“I bet they’d like the money.”

“Maybe, but can’t you say you’re here to fall in love? One girl, this morning, the one from Alberta, said something like ‘God had brought her here’.”

“Shit no, I can’t say anything like that.”

Jenn 3 Heart

*Clicking on the book cover above will take you to the Amazon purchase page.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under 3 Stars, Jennifer's Reviews, Reviews

Leave a Reply

