Review of Loving Lucas (Lies and Leather #1) by Violetta Rand

Loving Lucas

Lies and Leather

 

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Book Length (Est.): 208 pages

Book Description/Synopsis:  

Perfect for fans of Joanna Wylde and Monica Murphy, Violetta Rand’s explosive new Lies & Leather series kicks off with a red-hot motorcycle racer who rides hard and plays for keeps.

Twenty-one-year-old Karlie Augustine is a survivor. She’s smart and tough, but she’s in too deep with a bad boyfriend who isn’t above breaking her spirit—or her body. Luckily, help arrives in the form of a leather-clad, motorcycle-riding hunk on the right side of the law. Lucas Lafontaine is pure muscle, a Corpus Christi cop who ignites something primal deep within Karlie. And when he offers her room and board in exchange for housekeeping, she finally starts to feel safe again.

As their arrangement turns deliciously decadent, Lucas gets hooked on Karlie’s killer body and fighting spirit. He wants to heal the pain he sees behind her eyes, but to protect her he needs to keep her close, especially now that her psycho ex won’t take a hint. Even as Lucas fights his own battle for custody of his young son, he knows that what he’s found with Karlie is real—and that he’d do anything to protect the woman he wants to take to the finish line.

Mindy’s Review: 

*I received an ARC of this book free from NetGalley on behalf of Random House Publishing Group – Loveswept in exchange for an honest review*

Karlie Augustine is a college student that is dealing with an abusive relationship. Knowing she is homeless without him she does not know what to do until the fighting gets out of hand one night and a knight and shining armor dressed in leather shows up to the rescue. Karlie does not feel that she deserves happiness in her life. She grew up in the foster system but doing what she can to make a living and a future for herself.. Going to school and racing bikes is her true passion right now.

Lucas LaFontaine is a cop for the Corpus Christie Police Department. Witnessing the abuse that Karlie has to endure he comes to the rescue and even offers her a place to live and a job at his place. Lucas has a lot of issues of his own that he is trying to overcome but he knows that without a doubt he will protect Karlie from any danger. Even learning about her past will not scare him away from the woman he is falling in love with.

I have read another series from this same author that I truly fell in love with. While reading this one I was expecting to be drawn in but that didn’t happen. Although I liked the book I felt I really did not connect with the characters the way that I should have. The story line is great and the characters are strong. They are dealing with real life struggles that everyone can relate with. Overall this was a good read. 

Mindy 3.5 Star 

*Clicking on the book cover above will take you to the Amazon pre-order page.  Scheduled to be released 10/20/2015.

Advertisements

Leave a comment

Filed under 3.5 Stars, Mindy's Reviews, Reviews

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s