Review of The Last Guardian Rises (The Last Keeper’s Daughter #2) by Rebecca Trogner

The Last Guardian Rises

Captivating and Suspenseful 

 

 

Genre: Paranormal, Paranormal Romance

Book Length (Est.):  300 Pages

Book Description/Synopsis:  

Lily Ayres, Sanguis Ancilla to Krieger Barnes, has retreated into the shadows of the archives, hiding from the king and the intense emotions he arouses in her. How long can she deny him? Will she accept her role in the Other world and the abilities arising within her?

Krieger Barnes, Vampire King of North America, has shared his blood with Lily, his kingdom, and his heart. He summons Lily, needing her nearness, needing her to attend the council meeting with him.

Merlin, the king’s advisor, must fight the darkness that threatens to overtake him. Can he survive the dark magic?

Lucien Black, the wielder of the Dragon Sword, is once again charged with Lily’s protection. How will he explain his avoidance of her?

A being buried deep underground, inside a cage of iron and wrapped in chains, escapes. Is he the dark entity that the Others feel and fear?

Jennifer’s Review: 

*I received this book free from the author in exchange for an honest review*

I honestly think this book was better than the first. I lost myself in the pages as the story played out in my mind.

“I love you, but I love him too. Not in the same way, but…”

For all those who read the first book you’ll know what I’m talking about with this kind of quickie update. The secrets of the gates are slowly being learned. The Brotherhood is being found out, and oh my goodness their reach is further than anyone could have imagined. Lily is learning more about herself, but still has so many questions…as do many others about her. Krieger’s worse nightmare will come to pass and he doesn’t handle it too well. Lucien will be tempted almost more than he can bear. And Merlin knows the only thing he can do to overcome the madness of his magic and will sadly do it.

“God.” Lily kicked her foot into the dash. “Are all men such cowards?”

Lucien laughed. She was no longer the shy woman he’d helped navigate court life. “You’re just learning that. I’d rather go into battle than argue with a woman.”

In The Last Guardian Rises we also get introduced to the Guardian. He’s lost and looking for his Lynea. I can only imagine what he’ll do when he finds her…come on book three! I’m quite anxious to see how all of these characters are going to interact and for the first time ever I honestly don’t know who will get the girl. There are so many variables and new things that arise to keep me guessing.

“Lucien wanted to kiss her, here, now. Out of the corner of his eye, he caught Krieger turning to watch them.”

Oh, and how could I forget…you’ll get to meet the unknown being who is Lily’s father. Now that’s quite interesting. I cannot wait to see how crazy things get with him.

The only thing that caught me a little off guard was when the points of view would change to someone and somewhere else completely and then would switch back. It would always take me a second for my brain to process it. Other than that it’s a really good story and it’s easy to get wrapped up not only in the storyline but also the characters.

My Favorite Laughable Moment: There is this really intense moment in the story and then Hunter thinks something that just cracked me up.

“I need a moment,” Lucien said.

Brother, you need a whole day. Shit, take the rest of the week off.

Jenn 4.5 Heart

*Clicking on the book cover above will take you to the Amazon purchase page.

Leave a comment

Filed under 4.5 Stars, Jennifer's Reviews, Reviews

Leave a Reply

