Interview with Rebecca Trogner

6893534[1]

Rebecca Trogner author of The Last Keeper’s Daughter series

 

About the Author

Rebecca Trogner lives in the Shenandoah Valley region of Virginia, and frequently crosses the Blue Ridge Mountains that were the inspiration for Krieger’s home. She always dreamed of being a writer, but got sidetracked by the day-to-day adventures of life. With the encouragement of her family, she has finished her first novel and is currently writing the next book in The Last Keeper’s Daughter series. Rebecca lives with her husband and son, and a rescue dog named Giblet. To find out more about the author visit

Website | Blog | Twitter | Pinterest

 

Interview

You have created many different types of Others in you’re The Last Keeper’s Daughter series. Some are a little more traditional like the vampires, some are newer (at least to me) like the Lynea. Where did your inspiration come from when developing all of these characters and their gifts?

I was around Barstow, on the edge of the desert, when the drugs began to take hold and the story came to me. No, no, no, that’s not right….that’s Hunter S. Thompson.

I wish it were something as interesting as that. Mainly, I think my inspiration came from daydreaming about immortality. Once Krieger formed in my mind, I needed to create characters for him to interact with, and they had to be unique and interesting. It’s sort of a like creating a puzzle with all the pieces interlocking.

 

Most authors breathe a little piece of themselves into their characters. Which one is most like you? And how?

Definitely, Dale Hunter is the most like me. His sense of humor at the incredible world he encounters is spot on how I would react.

 

When you first began writing The Last Daughter’s Keeper did you plan on it being a trilogy or did you realize after you began that there was no way you’d get everything you wanted into just one book?

I planned on one book. About midway through TLKD I realized I had way too much to say. Either I had to do a rewrite or forge ahead and commit to writing more than one book. Or…I could have written one long ass book. I thought it over and, with the help of a few margaritas, decided to break it up into three books.

 

Throughout both The Last Daughter’s Keeper and The Last Guardian Rises I’d have to admit that my favorite characters have been Liam and Lucien. Liam is sweet and caring and just an overall good guy. Lucien on the other hand is just that dark brooding sexy man who deserves to win the girl and yes my fingers are crossed hoping for that in book three. (No pressure…LOL) Who is your favorite character? And why?

Well, that’s sort of like asking who’s your favorite child…they all are. J I will say that Lucien almost didn’t happen. He just popped into my head one day fully formed and demanded to be put in the book.

 

Have you considered writing any little spin-off novellas or full length novels with some of the other characters like Liam and Jo or Hunter and Meirta?

Lucien might get his own book. He’s a compelling character who carries his curse with such grace, plus he’s hotter than Georgia asphalt.

 

What are some of your favorite books and/or authors? And how do you enjoy reading them…digital or paper format?

I wish someone would combine the immediacy of digital in the form of a book. Holding a book and physically turning a page gives me such pleasure. Plus, I love the smell of books…okay was that too much information?

A part of my mind melted trying to list my favorite books and authors, so you’ll have to settle for what’s intriguing me right now.

Tiffany Riesz – The Original Sinners series

Diane Setterfield – The Thirteenth Tale

Marsha Pessl – Night Film

Max Brooks – World War Z

Mark Z. Danielewski – House of Leaves

 

When you’re not writing how do you like to spend your down time?

Reading, watching way too much TV, fine carpentry, wrangling cats, trying to grow flowers in my weed beds, working, and having fun with my husband and step-son.

 

Most writers have their little rituals. Mine’s creating playlists that fit the storylines and listening to them while I write. Do you have any little things you do? And what are they?

Must. Have. Coffee.

 

What or who inspired you to begin writing? And do you have any advice for our future authors out there?

I’d always wanted to write a book, but other than a few pages here or there, never got serious about it. For some reason, the first season of True Blood inspired me to get going with my writing and I haven’t looked back since.

 

**Random Question** I believe there is one random word that will describe a person almost perfectly. Mine is tarantism. Can you give me one word that would best describe the true you?

Tarantism…I had to look that up. Hmm.

Mine would be Inquisitive.

(For all who are curious tarantism is basically the uncontrollable urge to dance. Yes, I’m weird like that. And no, I can’t really dance but it’s still fun. Oh…an no tarantulas were involved I promise.)

 

Thank you for the interview Rebecca and I look forward to hopefully reading the third book soon. ~Jennifer

 

The Last Keeper's Daughter               18730126[1]

2 Comments

Filed under Interviews

2 responses to “Interview with Rebecca Trogner

  1. Hi Jennifer. Thank you for having me on you site.

Leave a Reply

