Review of Bad Romance: A Stepbrother Novel by Jen McLaughlin

Bad Romance

Genre: Contemporary Romance, Military Romance

Book Length (Est.): 241 pages

Book Description/Synopsis: 

In this explosive novel from bestselling author Jen McLaughlin, a good girl falls for the ultimate bad boy: her stepbrother. Perfect for fans of Sabrina Paige, Caitlin Daire, and Krista Lakes, Bad Romance proves that passion can be so wrong it’s right.

Seven years in the army will change a guy. But after a shoulder wound ends his career as a sniper, Jackson Worthington finds himself back home, fighting a battle that’s all too familiar: keeping his hands off Lily Hastings. She’s still her rich daddy’s little angel, innocent, impossibly lovely, as squeaky-clean as Jackson is dirty. And she’s still his stepsister—forbidden but not forgotten, not after the soul-melting kiss that got him kicked out of the house at eighteen. He couldn’t resist her then. How the hell can he resist her now?

Lily is about to marry a man she doesn’t love, and commit to a high-stress job she hates, all to please the father who controls every waking moment of her life. On top of everything, her teenage crush is back, with a sleek, chiseled body and a trace of the rebellious boy whose lips sealed her fate. Jackson’s timing couldn’t be worse . . . or better. Because Lily’s all grown up, too. She’s aching for another taste. And for the first time, she’s ready to be a bad girl.

Mindy’s Review:  

*I received an ARC of this book free from NetGalley on behalf of Random House  Publishing Group – Loveswept in exchange for an honest review*

Jackson Worthington would do anything to get out of his step fathers house. At the age of eighteen he wants to enlist into the Army and pursue his dream of being a sniper. His step father wants him to go to a big college and get a degree and help out in the family business. Before leaving for the Army he taunts his step sister into kissing him. What he doesn’t realize is that moment will always been on his mind.

Lily Hastings is a good girl that follows all of her daddy’s rules. Never living for herself. Being the good girl that she is she is now stuck and must marry her contract marriage to save and build her father’s company. That is until Jackson shows back up in town.

Jackson never meant for any of his so called family to realize he was back in town. Living in a bad neighborhood and drinking his pain away he spots a gorgeous woman that he feels an instant connection with. All of that turns to crap as soon as he realizes he is watching his step sister.

Lily is trying to make decisions to live her life on her own terms but will go through with a dreadful marriage just to save the jobs of all the innocent people. The thing is, her soon to be husband is really not into girls. But now that she knows Jackson is back in town she will stop at nothing to find out if they have the connection that she has felt for so long.

The step brother romance thing is a little new to me. I see these kinds of books a lot these days and I decided to give this one a try. When I first started reading I was a little uncomfortable but when the characters stress to themselves that they are not brother and sister I guess they just grew on me. They chemistry is hot and automatic. But one thing is for sure, the family will never understand or accept their love for one another. Although I really enjoyed reading this story I found myself very bothered by how Lily’s character was so weak when it came to her family. She was really willing to marry a man that didn’t even like girls all to please her father in a way. Now Jackson’s character I loved. He is strong and knows what he wasn’t in life and none of it has to do with family money or their approval for that matter. Overall this was a good read.

My Favorite Moment: I really loved when Lily decided to make Jackson a little jealous and headed to the bar. The phone call from the bartender was priceless.

My Favorite Laughable Moment: I about died when Lily came home and there was a female there with Jackson. I will never look at video games the same!! 

Mindy 4 Star

*Clicking on the book cover above will take you to the Amazon purchase page.

Advertisements

Leave a comment

Filed under 4 Stars, Mindy's Reviews, Reviews

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s