Review of Dragon Magic (Elise Ddraig, Dragon Chosen #2) by James D Horton

Dragon Magic

Powers of the Ancients 

 

Genre: Paranormal Romance (Dragons/Werewolves)

Book Length (Est.): 111 Pages

Book Description/Synopsis: 

Paranormal Shape Shifter Romance

Last year I was three years old. Now, one year later, I’m nineteen. Mostly. Magic, got to love it. My father is the King of the Gold Dragons Archer Ddraig. My mother, the Queen, is Jennifer. Oh and my other father is First Knight of the Realm Logan. Yeah two dads, one mom, I know I’m weird. Or special. I prefer special most of the time. Except right now.

Lou’s my bodyguard, best friend, and if I’m being honest, my ongoing crush. He has dark, wavy hair, wide, stocky shoulders and the most gorgeous face any man could ever have. Strong jaw, just the right amount of beard line, sharp nose, and the bluest eyes I’ve ever seen. He’s everything that makes a man sexy.

I got my only friends seriously hurt. I keep having these totally weird – but totally smokin’ hot memories of Lou that aren’t mine. A shape shifting jaguar whose supposed to train me hates my guts. Oh and no one wants to let me just be me.

Being the Chosen One sucks and I’m pretty sure this is just the beginning.

Jennifer’s Review: 

*I received this book free from the author in exchange for an honest review*

Book two starts right where book one ended with Alex being possessed by the darkness and fire and trying to destroy Elise, Rose, and Rory. A lot happens in this book and it was very difficult to put down. Elise learns a little more about who she is and why her powers don’t work the way she wants. She also learns more about the Ancients who inhabit her mind and even a tad bit more about their personal agendas. There is a lot more to her and Lou’s story and it’s kind of weird but also all kinds of sweet.

“Tears fall down my face. I don’t bother wiping at them. Rose is hurt because of me. Rory’s hurt, also me. Now Lou, he’s in pain, he’s hurting and I can feel it. I want to be angry at him. Being angry would be so much easier but I’m not. I felt his pain, his hurt and his need. And I know that’s my fault too.”

Elise carries a lot on her shoulders with being the chosen one and it’s hard for her to process sometimes. She doesn’t always make the right decisions, she only knows to do what her heart tells her is right, which in part is why she continues to remain on Rose’s father’s bad side. No matter her intentions, she always seems to do wrong in his eyes…well mostly. Things definitely change at the end of book two and I’m not so sure if it’s for the good or not.

I did like the POV change at the end. Remy has been hard to understand and switching to him gives a little more insight into his character. I can’t wait to read more and see what crazy adventures this story takes me on. I mean the twist at the end leaves it open to all sorts of possibilities.

Dragon Magic to be a little better than its predecessor, Dragon Heart, because it left me with more answers than questions. I love when I don’t have to wait until the final book before any of the answers are given. James Horton has a knack for giving you just enough to keep you interested and wanting to read more.

My Favorite Awkward Moment: Nothing more awkward than a mother daughter talk about boys and all things that go with it.

“Mom I don’t understand-“

“I know,” she cuts me off. “I know. And Elise, tell Lou I said it’s okay.” 

“What’s okay?” I ask. 

“He’ll know.”

My Favorite Laughable Moment: Girl talk with the bestie!

“We haven’t…you know…” 

“Know what? What have you done Elise? Come come, details are a must. Pictures are even better. Oh! Do you have pictures? I’d LOVE to see some pics!” 

“Oh my god no! Are you serious?”

Jenn 4.5 Heart

*Clicking on the book cover above will take you to the Amazon purchase page.

Leave a comment

Filed under 4.5 Stars, Jennifer's Reviews, Reviews

Leave a Reply

