Review of The Outcasts: City in Ruins by K.C. Gray

The Outcasts

A New Look Into Gargoyles 

 

Genre: YA, Fantasy, Romance

Book Length (Est.): 226 Pages

Book Description/Synopsis:  

When fifteen-year-old Sophia Goodman meets Billy Carter and touches his hand, her very essence hums with pleasure. Sophia is so addicted to his touch she ignores Billy’s strange behavior. It’s obvious he’s hiding something, but by the time she realizes Billy isn’t as he seems, she finds herself thrust into a world filled with magic and mythological creatures.

Jennifer’s Review: 

*I received this book free from the author in exchange for an honest review*

K.C. Gray paints a new picture for gargoyles and their evolution. Their history, evolution, prophecies, rules – it all paints a picture unlike one I’ve read before.

Sophia isn’t quite sure what she’s looking for, but when she feels the unexplainable pull toward a mysterious boy she wants to question it, but by the time she does it’s entirely too late. She followed a feeling, one that she can no longer feel, and finds herself basically a prisoner of a world she never knew existed.

“I thought about his transformation again and again. Despite attempts to stop, the scene seemed etched in my eyelids; body stretching, skin deepening to an inhuman color, and wings…fuck, he had wings!”

Billy told her he was a recruiter, he just didn’t elaborate. He was there to do a job, one that didn’t entirely lead to her, but he was addicted to her touch and couldn’t leave her. He had to have her, bring her with him, even if it wasn’t her time.

In The Outcasts: City in Ruins rules get broken, worlds begin to collide, and in the end a life is given in the name of protection.

When I first began reading I wasn’t entirely sure what to expect, but as I got further and further into the story I couldn’t wait to see what would happen next. Truth be told…I still can’t. The ending  definitely left me wanting more. For anyone who’s super strict with their genres, as a mom I feel I should say that the book is labeled YA and although there’s an occasional cuss word and insinuations of sex I believe it still falls into the YA category. It doesn’t cross any lines and I’d definitely let my 13 year-old read it.

My Favorite Moment: I have to admit I really enjoyed when Sophia punched a ‘precious unicorn’. He deserved it!

Jenn 4 Heart

*Clicking on the book cover above will take you to the Amazon purchase page.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under 4 Stars, Jennifer's Reviews, Reviews

Leave a Reply

