Review of Once Kissed (O’Brien Family #1) by Cecy Robson

Once Kissed

Argyle and Cuffs 

 

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Book Length (Est.): 288 Pages

Book Description/Synopsis:  

Once they shared a night of passion. Now a chance encounter forces them back together. In Cecy Robson’s O’Brien Family series debut—perfect for readers of Monica Murphy and J. Lynn—two total opposites find that the flames of desire are still smoldering.

Tough-as-steel cop Curran O’Brien is quickly rising through the ranks of the Philadelphia police department. But when his rookie partner is almost killed under his watch, Curran just wants to prove he still has what it takes to walk among Philly’s finest. So he’s pissed to be stuck on a cushy security assignment for the DA’s office . . . until he gets a good look at the sweet, straitlaced intern he’s supposed to protect—but not touch.

Tess Newart recognizes Curran instantly. How could she not? Back in college she tied this former frat boy to the bed with her argyle socks! That sizzling one-night stand was the only indiscretion Tess ever allowed herself. She has survived law school so far, despite being pushed to succeed by her overbearing father. Now that she’s interning on a major case against a ruthless crime boss, she won’t jeopardize her career by giving in to temptation again. She just never expected temptation to look so damn hot in uniform.

Tess knows her father has other plans for her, and they don’t include Curran. But soon she’s falling for him all over again. And when danger emerges, Curran will prove just how good a bad-boy cop can be.

 

YAY – Double Review!

 

Jennifer’s Review: 

*I received an ARC of this book free from NetGalley on behalf of Random House Publishing Group – Loveswept in exchange for an honest review*

Tess hasn’t ever known the most taken for granted emotions. Things like being cherished, adored, and even loved aren’t things she’s felt. With a mom long gone, a father who treats her like a chess piece in the game of life and power, and a step mother who only follows orders she hasn’t had the opportunity to experience any of them. Not until Curran comes back into her life.

Curran was good at being a cop, his instincts put him above the rest, until one bad day cost him everything. After his partner is injured he has a difficult time getting back into the game and guarding Tess was supposed to help him get his feet back on the floor. Only guarding her isn’t what brings him back to life. She does. Everything about her drives him crazy and he’ll do anything to keep her safe.

Curran’s a force to be reckoned with. He loves hard and protects even harder. Nothing is more important to him than his family and god help those who try to hurt them. The fact that he isn’t perfect only serves to make him that much more loveable.

Once Kissed is heartbreaking and heartwarming all at the same time. The life Tess has had to live. The tragedy Curran has had to live through. It all makes them who they are, and makes it that much sweeter when their love helps them heal and move on.

I look forward to reading the rest of the O’Brien series. They are a bunch of alpha men with one hell of an alpha sister. It should be quite interesting to see what kind of significant others can bring them to their knees with love and adoration.

My Favorite Laughable Moment: When Tess meets all of Curran’s siblings. I can’t believe he just left her alone at the table with them. He absolutely deserved everything they said about him. His previous choice in women…hilariously priceless!

Jenn 4 Heart

 

Mindy’s Review: 

*I received an ARC of this book free from NetGalley on behalf of Random House Publishing Group – Loveswept in exchange for an honest review*

Curran O’Brien is a police officer for the Philadelphia Police Department. He is the kind of cop that you will want on your side when things start to go south. That is until his rookie partner gets paralyzed when Curran hesitates. He gets a little upset when he is assigned to a security assignment to keep an eye on a woman that he cannot touch.

Tess Newart recognizes Curran the moment she sees him. Not understanding why she has to have security around her at all times but hen again she is helping work the biggest case for the district attorney. This could be the break that she needs to land her perfect job and finally be free from her father.

Tess and Curran had a one night stand back in college. Curran remembers the moment he notices her argyle socks. Those are hard to forget when he was tied up and had one of the best nights of his life. Curran has a hard time watching and protecting this woman when his thoughts will not let him forget the past. Tess knows she has about 6 more months until she thinks she will be free from her controlling father. Once Curran figures out what is really bothering Tess and how controlling her father really is he tries to get her to understand she will never be free. Once her father learns of Tess’s relationship with Curran all of her fears surface. The controlling man comes out with the vengeance and will stop at nothing to make his daughter do what he wants and on his terms. The only thing standing in his way is the O’Brien boys that will stop at nothing to protect family.

This was a great read. The emotional time that both Tess and Curran are dealing with makes them perfect for each other. They have a way of helping each other become better and strive for what they want. I cannot wait to read more about the O’Brien family!

My Favorite Moment: I agree that my favorite moment was when Tess met the O’Brien family. Oh how I have missed Wren. I absolutely love this family.

Mindy 4 Star

*Clicking on the book cover above will take you to the Amazon purchase page.

Advertisements

Leave a comment

Filed under 4 Stars, Jennifer's Reviews, Mindy's Reviews, Reviews

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s