Review of Demons From My Past by JL Leslie

Demons From My Past

A fire that cannot be ignored…

 

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Book Length (Est.): 128 Pages

Book Description/Synopsis:  

Everyone has a past. Kingsley Huxton is trying to move on from hers and repair her estranged relationship with her father. When her mother helps her get a job at her father’s hotel business, she knows she finally has a shot. She can make him see she’s changed. Earn his love and trust again. Easier said than done. Especially when she meets her sexy new co-worker, Paxton Rowe, and realizes he’s the man who just kissed her senseless! Completely senseless. In fact, she’s thought of his lips for days. When she walks into her father’s office and finds out he’s the CFO, it throws her for a loop. How can she focus on fixing things with her father when she can’t get Paxton off her mind? Then Paxton seems to run hot and cold…playing mind games with her. They definitely have chemistry, but he’s holding back. Kingsley realizes he has a few demons of his own. She must determine if he’s worth the fight. Then when tragedy strikes, Kingsley has to battle the demons from her past and find out if she’s strong enough win!

Jennifer’s Review: 

*I received this book free from the author in exchange for an honest review*

First of all I have to say the author sent me a request to review, but since the book was free on Amazon I downloaded it directly from there when I agreed to do the review. I usually get the genre from Amazon, but it’s listed under Dramas & Plays, which it is not. I have it listed above as a Contemporary Romance, because that is technically what it is.

Kingsley went off the rails when she was younger and now she’s doing whatever she can to get back in the good graces of her father. She even got a job working for him, thanks to her mother’s assistance, in hopes that it would bring them closer. Let’s just say things definitely do not go as planned.

“Honestly, because if you’re nice to me, I’ll just want you to kiss me again and since you obviously want to forget that ever happened…since you’re pretending that it never did…then so do I.”

Paxton has demons of his own, but no matter how hard he tries he just cannot stay away from his boss’s daughter. He knows it’s wrong, there’s just nothing he can do to stop it.

“I don’t want to fight this anymore. I’m tired of fighting this. I’m tired of avoiding you.”

I think Kingsley and Paxton find themselves while getting lost in each other. Sometimes it takes the love of someone else to show you who you truly are. In Demons From My Past they battle their attraction, their addictions, and will risk everything for the love neither is sure they deserve but want nonetheless.

“I’m not giving up, Kings. I love you and I’m not giving you up.”

The storyline is really good. It had just enough conflict to make it interesting and the chemistry between Kingsley and Paxton was off the charts. I would recommend this BUT it’s not edited AT ALL. From misspellings to having two different people talking in the same paragraph (yeah that one was completely confusing at times) it just really needs to be professionally edited. If it wasn’t such a captivating story I probably wouldn’t have finished it the way it currently is, but I can say that if it was edited I probably would have given it 4-5 stars instead of the 3 I’m giving it.

My Favorite Moment: I really liked the way Kingsley and Paxton met the first time. It was sexy and intense. Of course, their second time was both awkward and hilarious.

Jenn 3 Heart

*Clicking on the book cover above will take you to the Amazon purchase page.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under 3 Stars, Jennifer's Reviews, Reviews

Leave a Reply

