Review of Soldier by Maggie Sweet

Soldier

Who’s Playing Who? 

 

Genre: Military Romance

Book Length (Est.): 169 Pages

Book Description/Synopsis:  

MICK
I knew I shouldn’t have come back here. Too many memories and not enough action.

How am I supposed to make a future when no one will let me forget the past?

But as soon as I see her, I know I have to hang around, just for a few more days. Even if she says no. She needs protection, and things are worse than she realizes.

RAINY
I have to get out of here. This town is going to drown me alive. I know that people need me, but keeping them afloat is dragging me to the bottom of the well.

The only way I’ll feel safe is if I can start again, somewhere else. Nobody ever seems to make it out of here. Look at Mick – he was kicked out and he’s still back in town.

Mick, that guy is nothing but trouble. Trouble and muscles.

**standalone novel intended for mature audiences. No cliffhanger!**

Jennifer’s Review: 

*I received this book free from the author in exchange for an honest review*

Mick is a cocky S.O.B. He can walk into a room and just assume he’s the hottest thing in it and that anyone would be lucky for him to let him get his rocks off on them, in them…it wouldn’t matter to him. His arrogance is what will get his ass handed to him by Rainy. Nothing like watching an over-confident jackass fall.

He is a foul mouthed, obnoxious alpha man. If you don’t like your leading man to have a lot of edge then I wouldn’t read this, but if you like the bad boys then Mick is your man.

“Seriously, she leans over! I can see the light blue crotch of those little cotton panties she’s wearing! What the fuck is she trying to do to me?”

Rainy wants out of the small town her foster family basically runs. She has bigger dreams than it allows and only days left to make her move. Mick walks in and turns her life completely upside down. Turns out he’s a little handy to have around though.

Soldier is about a man coming back to a home that’s not his home anymore and finding more than he bargained for. It’s about righting wrongs and understanding things previously misinterpreted.

The writing was okay, but between the last chapter and the epilogue it felt as if something was missing, as if not all the loose ends had been tied up before jumping to the future. It was more like certain decisions, although not implemented, just automatically meant they were to be.

My Favorite Moment: I loved how Rainy played pool. That girl knows how to get what she wants.

“Play for what, exactly?”

“For my ass, of course.”

He licks his lips.

“Now you’re talking, princess.”

“No… Wait, not my actual ass. Okay? This is off limits. I mean my figurative ass.”

Jenn 3 Heart

*Clicking on the book cover above will take you to the Amazon purchase page.

Leave a comment

Filed under 3 Stars, Jennifer's Reviews, Reviews

Leave a Reply

