Review of Romancing the Null (The Outlier Prophecy #1) by Tina Gower

Romancing the Null

Predictions Do Not Always Equal Fate

 

Genre: Paranormal Romance, Suspense

Book Length (Est.): 221 Pages

Book Description/Synopsis:  

There are three kinds of lies. Lies the fates spin as half truths. Lies of destined love. And statistics.

As a fateless, Kate Hale is immune to the first two, but the third kind of lie is her profession. After spending years as an actuary for the Traffic Department, Kate is promoted to Accidental Death Predictions. It’s all she’s worked toward, and her career is finally on track. But when an oracle delivers an impossible death prediction and insists on her help to solve the case, she might lose any chance of impressing the brass.

Her only hope comes in the form of the police liaison assigned to her department, latent werewolf Ian Becker. Becker can grant her the clearance to find answers, but he’s a wild card with a shady past who doesn’t play well with others.

Every prediction has a loophole, but if Kate can’t solve the case before the crime is fated to occur she won’t just lose her job-she’ll have the blood of an oracle on her hands.

Romancing the Null is the first book in an exciting new urban fantasy romance series. Fans of Mercy Thompson or The Dresden Files will likely enjoy this series.

Jennifer’s Review: 

*I received this book free from the author in exchange for an honest review*

Kate is Accidental Death Predictions and when an Oracle shows up at her office door after hours at the cusp of the weekend she’s the only one there who can help him and she’ll do it, even if she doesn’t want to.

Ian isn’t the Detective Kate assumed she’d be getting, he’s only a police liaison who doesn’t have the clearance levels they need to solve this case, but that won’t stop him from jumping right in and doing whatever is needed to get the job done.

Kate’s strictly by the book, or at least tries to be. Ian is all about getting results no matter the red tape. Together they clash, but it only adds to the sparks between them.

“This pack snuggle thing isn’t sexual, right?”

Romancing the Null definitely has a few twists and turns. Just when you think something is leaning toward good, something else comes along and twists it around. There are no dull moments; every page is filled with predictions, obstacles, silenced emotions, and carefully thought out – if not occasionally reckless – actions. Holy hell the sexual tension between Kate and Ian is so thick I think everyone can see it but them and even he has to smell something, I mean he is part werewolf after all. Hopefully they’ll figure out exactly what’s happening between them in book two…fingers crossed.

My Favorite Moments: I like how Kate always second guesses her emotions and reactions when it comes to Ian Becker. Her thought processes even sometimes turn into a bumbling mess.

“The door taps shut behind us. There’s a moment of oh-my-gods-alone-with-a-werewolf tingle that zings in every nerve ending. Or at least I think it’s a predator verses prey thing, I won’t allow my thoughts to veer into inappropriate territory. Do not pass go or throw yourself on Becker’s bed. Sex-without-benefits. His muscles flex-maybe there are some benefits.”

Jenn 4 Heart

*Clicking on the book cover above will take you to the Amazon purchase page.

 

Advertisements

2 Comments

Filed under 4 Stars, Jennifer's Reviews, Reviews

2 responses to “Review of Romancing the Null (The Outlier Prophecy #1) by Tina Gower

  1. Pingback: Review of The Werewolf Coefficient (Outlier Prophecies #3) by Tina Gower | Hines and Bigham's Literary Tryst

  2. Pingback: Review of Big Bad Becker (The Outlier Prophecy #1.5) by Tina Gower | Hines and Bigham's Literary Tryst

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s