Review of Dragon’s Mate (Red Planet Dragons of Tajss #2) by Miranda Martin and Juno Wells

Dragon's Mate

Don’t get jealous, get your own!

 

Genre: Sci-fi, Romance

Book Length (Est.): 162 Pages

Book Description/Synopsis:  

Like being stranded on a desert alien planet wasn’t enough…

All I ever wanted was someone to love. Now my best friend is knocked up by the only hunky alien-dragon available and I can’t tell anyone how totally jealous I am. The handful of humans who survived our ship’s crash are locked in a struggle to live in sweltering heat with dwindling supplies.

The others are taking the life giving, addictive epis but if I take it that means I’m stuck here. Forever. Which also means the chance of being rescued by a knight in shining armor would be zero.

If that weren’t enough, I go and get myself kidnapped and he’s another big, sexy, alien-dragon warrior.

Dragon’s Mate is a full length scifi novel with a happily ever after ending, plenty of steam, bloody battles and alien-human intrigue. It is standalone and co-written by newcomer Miranda Martin and one of the hottest science fiction romance authors out there, Juno Wells.

DRAGON’S MATE is a sequel to DRAGON’S BABY. You do not have to read both in order to understand the plot, but the story will be richer if you do!

Jennifer’s Review: 

*I received this book free from the author in exchange for an honest review*

Before I say anything else about Dragon’s Mate I’d like to say that it says this can be read a standalone, but after reading it’s predecessor Dragon’s Baby and then this one I’m going to have to disagree. There are so many things that tie the books together and if you didn’t read the first one you won’t understand the depth of things that happen in the second.

Jolie is sweet and caring and all she wants is the impossible…a knight in shiny armor.

Jolie’s best friend is pregnant with a dragon/human baby and she’s jealous. She wants someone to look at her the way Ladon looks at Calista and she’s knows that unless they get rescued that it will never happen. The human men who survived the crash would never be able to give her the love and affection she wants. What she doesn’t know is that someone already looks at her like that.

“He saved me. I’ve been holding out for a man who would care for me, someone who would look at me like Ladon looks at Calista. I was blind. I didn’t see that he was right here.”

Sverre lives in a self-imposed hell, one which he does not deserve to be in. He’s more honorable than he’d ever take credit for.

Sverre heard the voice of an angel and knew he had to have her, to treasure her and keep her forever, even if he knew he didn’t deserve her. Going against every instinct in his body he’ll do anything for the female he’s been infatuated by.

“She is mine. I must have her. I knew it when I saw her.”

Dragon’s Mate is book two in the Red Planet Dragons of Tajss and it continues right where Dragon’s Baby leaves off. The humans are still stranded in Ladon’s city on Tajss; half are making the best of it and the other half are rebelling against almost every decision made. There are many not happy with the relationship between Ladon and Calista and when Jolie brings another dragon into the city it sparks even more tension.

When I started this book I was a little disappointed because when the POV changes between Jolie and Sverre the timelines overlapped and it was a little bit confusing, but once I got past that everything got better. I was pulled back into the world the humans liked to call Vulcan and cannot wait to read more about Tajss, especially now that there are slave traders afoot and more dragons showing their faces.

My Favorite Laughable Moment: Not only do Jolie and Sverre have to overcome a language barrier but also an occasional cultural one, like when she mentions kinky and then has to try to explain it. Things are always better explained when shown instead of trying to use useless words.

Jenn 4 Heart

*Clicking on the book cover above will take you to the Amazon purchase page.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under 4 Stars, Jennifer's Reviews, Reviews

Leave a Reply

