Review of Hooked by Brenda Rothert

hooked

Maid to Last

 

Genre: Contemporary Romance, Sports Romance

Book Length (Est.): 225 Pages

Book Description/Synopsis:  

From the author of the On the Line and Fire on Ice hockey romance series comes a sultry novel featuring a brooding NHL player who’s hell on skates—and the no-nonsense woman who forces him to clean up his act.

Miranda: Even though I’m broke, putting myself through college, and working two jobs, I’m trying to make the best of it. Meanwhile, Jake Birch, hockey’s hottest bad boy, lives in a luxury hotel in downtown Chicago—and still complains about every little thing in his penthouse. But after I tell him off, instead of getting me fired, Jake requests me as his personal housekeeper. Then he starts flirting with me. Only I’m not flirting back . . . at least, I’m trying not to. Did I mention that he’s hockey’s hottest bad boy?

Jake: I’ve met the best woman at the worst possible time. Miranda is the fire to my ice—a sexy, charmingly candid spark who breaks down my walls and reminds me what it’s like to feel again. But I’m being forced to date my team owner’s daughter to keep my job, so I can’t be caught with Miranda. Still, we’re getting closer—until Miranda finds out about my “girlfriend.” And that’s not the only secret I’ve been keeping. But Miranda’s the one I want . . . even if she doesn’t believe me.

 

YAY – Double Review!

 

Mindy’s Review: 

*I received an ARC of this book free from Random House Publishing Group – Loveswept in exchange for an honest review*

Jake Birch is a NHL hockey player that has a hot head and a demanding attitude. He is staying in a hotel until his apartment is ready for him to move into. He complains about everything. He has certain game day rituals that have to take place and it is bad luck if everything is not right.

Miranda works for everything that she has. She works two jobs and is going to school for a business degree. Working at the Dupont Hotel as a maid helps pay her rent. When she is assigned to the suites she runs into a gorgeous, arrogant and a body that will make you melt hockey player that is demanding soaps, water and liquor be in his room at tall times.

I have to say that I did not like Jake at all when I first started reading this story. He is very arrogant and things have to be his way at all times. I really enjoyed when he got into some trouble and his career was on the line. Then we meet the real Jake as he starts to have feelings for Miranda. The truth comes out and it is heartbreaking. She brings out the soft and romantic side of Jake that makes you fall in love with all sides of him. Miranda is a no nonsense girl and she calls Jake out on his crap.

This is the first book that I have read from this author. I really enjoyed this and hope to read more from her.

Mindy 4 Star

 

Jennifer’s Review: 

*I received an ARC of this book free from Random House Publishing Group – Loveswept in exchange for an honest review*

Miranda is a maid, a bartender, and a student. She’s just trying to get by and not starve while doing it. The last thing she needs or wants is a man in her life, but when an arrogant man in the penthouse suite request her to be the only maid to clean his room she’ll wonder his intentions. And not in a nice or silent way. She’s pretty much as straightforward as a person can be.

Jake is a hockey player who’s only staying in the hotel until his home is remodeled and if he can catch little glimpses of the hot maid while doing it then why not. But the more she blows him off the more he’s drawn to her. It drives him crazy that she’s not interested, which only make him try harder to get her to notice him. Only problem with that is there’s someone else who is actually very interested in him who he’s trying to get rid of.

As Jake realizes he likes Miranda’s simplicity his walls will slowly melt away, just as hers will fall with his kindness.

With an adorable, muscled, kind-hearted man and a sassy but sweet woman Hooked will have you just that…hooked. It’s humor and wittiness kept me flipping the pages, not to mention I kept waiting for them to do more than talk…which honestly takes forever. Be prepared to wait for the good stuff!

My Favorite Laughable Moment is when Jake meets her family and they start in on the stories. Nothing like pigtails and Wonder Woman to keep a man interested.

Jenn 4 Heart

*Clicking on the book cover above will take you to the Amazon purchase page.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under 4 Stars, Jennifer's Reviews, Mindy's Reviews, Reviews

Leave a Reply

