Review of Playing with Fire: Dragons of the Darkblood Secret Society by Meg Ripley

playing-with-fire

“Meeting you was a wonderful, unexpected, fantastic surprise.”

 

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Book Length (Est.): 194 Pages

Book Description/Synopsis:  

I’ve always done my best to work hard and stand apart from my father’s shadow, but it seemed like he was setting me up to fail. When he assigned me a new client, Adventure Isle–a run down amusement park in the middle of nowhere–I knew I’d have to find the investor of a lifetime to succeed. I was looking for a man with more money than sense. What I found was a man who had no money at all, but he did have a beautiful daughter, Shayne. A beautiful, ball-busting daughter that I wanted from the second I laid eyes on her. She controls his money, but she controlled my heart from just about the moment we met. She called herself Mary and I never had a chance. But just when I find myself in her bed, exactly where I want to be, she gets the call. Her father is dead; killed by a dragon. And things are about to get a whole lot more complicated when the woman of my dreams learns that I’m a dragon, too.

Jennifer’s Review: 

*I received an ARC of this book free from Red Lily Review Club in exchange for an honest review*

Jason isn’t sure if his father is setting him up for failure or if there’s a little sentiment left in the old man, either way he doesn’t want to fail. After seeing pictures of his mother at the amusement park he wanted to revitalize it, to bring it back to back to its glory with a bit of a modern twist. Mary, on the other hand, thought differently, and until she was on board then his plan was pretty much a simple pipe dream.

When Mary’s life is turned upside down and Jason only adds to the crazy she’ll pull away, but it doesn’t take long for the truth to come to light. She’ll realize not only had he not lied to her, but that her father wasn’t as batty as she once thought.

Playing with Fire is a fast paced love story with a little murder mystery suspense added in.

The part I didn’t like is that there are no chapters. Every time you see ***** just expect it to move forward.

My Favorite Moment is a little office rendezvous make-up visit.

Jenn 3 Heart

*Clicking on the book cover above will take you to the Amazon purchase page.

Leave a comment

Filed under 3 Stars, Jennifer's Reviews, Reviews

Leave a Reply

