Review of The Ingredients of You and Me (Hopeless Romantics #3) by Nina Bocci

“I got you.”

 

GenreContemporary Women’s Fiction

Length: 318 Pages

POV: First Person

Description:

After selling her successful bakery back in New York, Parker Powell decides to visit her best friend Charlotte in Hope Lake, Pennsylvania, to figure out her next steps. As she acquaints herself with the people in town, she begins to wonder why she ever loved city life in the first place. Between the Golden Girls (a.k.a. the senior citizen women who hold court), the response from the town to her sweet treats, and Nick Arthur, the ever-charming local owner of a landscaping business she spent time with during her last visit, Parker finds a community of cheerleaders who encourage her to get her baking mojo back.

At first, everything is great—she collaborates with the Golden Girls to put new twists on traditional confections, and thanks to Nick’s advice, she quickly learns the stark differences between big city and small-town business practices. Although Nick has become her friend and confidant, Parker’s determined to keep things platonic—especially since his girlfriend isn’t a fan of their friendship. But just when things fall into place so they can finally be together, Parker’s dream bakery is threatened by a major corporation who wants to take her down using the very bit of advice that Nick gave her.

With a recipe for disaster looming, Parker must cook up a new scheme, figuring out how to keep the business—and man—she’s come to love before she loses it all.

Perfect for fans of Amy E. Reichert and Jenny Colgan, The Ingredients of You and Me is a scrumptious romantic comedy that lets you have your cake and eat it too.

Jennifer’s Review:

*I received this book free from Gallery Books | Simon & Schuster, Inc. via NetGalley.*

Parker is at a crossroads in her life. She had thought she’d done the right thing by selling her business, and she had, but the factors that partially went into her decision were no more, leaving her struggling for direction.

What better way to get your mojo back than to go visit your bestie, which is exactly what she does. Turns out the entire ‘Golden Girls’ squad has her back. And nothing like a bunch of ornery senior citizens who love to intervene in their own heartfelt ways to help you find your direction.

There’s also a little second chance romance (aka Nick) which adds a little awkwardness throughout the book, especially since he has a crazy, and I mean hella crazy, girlfriend. And no, there’s no cheating while he’s dating said crazy chick, but it does add to the awkwardness factor.

“Let me get this straight. Me being here is driving you insane, and your bright idea is to spend more time with me? I’m in the Twilight Zone.”

The Ingredients of You and Me is more of a journey to self discovery than a romance like the title suggested (at least it did to me). It is laced with humor, interesting situations, and a whole lot of sexual tension.

The beginning starts slow, which left me unsure of the direction of the book. It did eventually pick up the pace though. The characters were interesting. I loved the things that would come out of Mancini’s mouth, and you never knew what she had up her sleeve. Being inside Parker’s mind was interesting with her trying to decide her future. And Nick was sort of this confused, sad excuse of a man, but with a heart of gold.

*Clicking on the book cover above will take you to the Amazon purchase page.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s